Pawan Kumar Bansal, Nagma in Congress' Second List

The Congress Thursday declared its second list of candidates for the Lok Sabha elections, fielding former minister Pawan Kumar Bansal from Chandigarh and actor Nagma from Meerut.

Published: 13th March 2014 08:39 PM  |   Last Updated: 14th March 2014 12:40 AM   |  A+A-


The Congress Thursday renominated former railway minister Pawan Kumar Bansal from Chandigarh dismissing allegations of "taint" against him by the opposition as it released a second list of 71 names including actor Nagma from Meerut.

The list also includes former union minister Subodh Kant Sahai from Ranchi and Youth Congress chief Rajeev Satav from Hingoli (Maharashtra), who has worked closely with party vice president Rahul Gandhi.

Actor-turned-politician Raj Babbar, the sitting MP from Uttar Pradesh's Firozabad, has now been fielded from the state's Ghaziabad, held by Bharatiya Janata Party president Rajnath Singh, who is now reportedly keen to shift to Lucknow.

From Lucknow, the party has fielded Rita Bahuguna Joshi, the ex-state unit chief.

The 71 names announced Thursday include four replacements from the list announced March 8.

The Congress is yet to declare its candidates for Delhi which will go the polls April 10. The party had received a heavy drubbing in Delhi in the last assembly polls and is weighing various options. It had won all seven Lok Sabha seats in 2009.

There was speculation that Bansal could be denied a ticket in the wake of corruption charges having been framed against his nephew Vijay Singla and nine other accused in a railway bribery case.

It was also not certain whether Sahai would be fielded after his name having figured in the controversial coal block allocations for having written a letter to the prime minister seeking his intervention for allocation of two coal blocks to a company of which his brother was an honrary director. Sahai, who had resigned as a union minister in October 2012, had refuted all charges against him.

The Congress defended decision to give ticket to Bansal.

"What is a taint in a person who is not accused," party spokesperson Abhishek Manu Singhvi said, adding Bansal had resigned pending an inquiry concerning his ministry in keeping with "the highest standards of propriety."

The list declared Thursday includes union ministers M. Veerapa Moily (Chikkballapur-Karnataka), Shashi Tharoor (Thiruvananthapuram), K. V. Thomas (Ernakulam-Kerala) and V. Narayanasamy (Puducherry).

Other prominent candidates in the list include Pratibha Singh, wife of Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh from Mandi, P.C. Chacko (Chalakudy-Kerala) and Begum Noor Bano (Moradabad-Uttar Pradesh). The last is currently held by cricketer-turned-politician Mohammed Azharuddin.

A Congress release said that Nagma has replaced Dayanand Gupta in Meerut as the party's nominee. It said that Satyanarayan Sharma has replaced Chayya Verma in Raipur and Aarti Singh has replaced Maneka Singh in Raigarh (both Chhattisgarh) and Daryl William Cheran Momin has replaced D.M. Sangma in Tura in Meghalaya.

The list includes three from Himachal Pradesh, 10 from Karnataka, 15 from Kerala, three from Madhya Pradesh, seven from Maharashtra, six from Odisha, two each from Rajasthan, Meghalaya, Assam, Chhattisgarh, 13 from Uttar Pradesh and one each in Gujarat, Jharkhand, Nagaland, Chandigarh, Lakshadweep and Puducherry.

Congress had declared its first list of candidates 194 candidates March 8.

conglist second list A.jpgcong second list B.jpgcong second list C.jpg


Also Read

Sushma, Ram Kripal, Shahnawaz in BJP's Third List  

Congress Likely to Include Right to Health in Manifesto 

More Than Willing to Re-contest from Ludhiana: Tewari

Will Rahul's Combative Stance Help Congress?

Congress Announces First List of Candidates for 2014 LS Elections 

Gamang, Chandrasekhar in First List of Congress

BJP Announces First List of Candidates for LS Polls in Kerala

AAP Releases First List of 20 Candidates for LS Polls 

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp