Sushma from Vidisha; Sinha Out of Fray

Pramod Mahajan’s daughter Poonam to contest against Priya Dutt in Mumbai North Central

Published: 14th March 2014 09:43 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th March 2014 09:45 AM   |  A+A-


Senior BJP leader Sushma Swaraj will contest the upcoming Lok Sabha elections from Vidisha in Madhya Pradesh, while former Finance Minister Yashwant Sinha has decided to bow out of the election race as his son has been given the party ticket from his seat, as the BJP released its fourth list featuring 97 names after holding a slew of meetings here on Thursday evening.

Lok Sabha seats of Gujarat and Uttar Pradesh, from where BJP prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi and other stalwarts like party chief Rajnath Singh, L K Advani and M M Joshi are expected to contest, were not taken up for discussion.  

The next poll committee meeting is scheduled to be on Saturday.   In the list announced on Thursday, the BJP declared candidates for seats in Bihar (25), Assam (6), Madhya Pradesh (24), Karnataka (5),  Kerala (14), Jharkhand (13), Maharashtra (2), West Bengal (5).  Another key change includes S S Ahluwalia being given the ticket from Darjeeling, a seat currently held by Jaswant Singh, who is likely to be accommodated in Rajasthan. The late BJP leader Pramod Mahajan’s daughter Poonam Mahajan has been given the ticket from Mumbai North Central, where she will be pitted against sitting MP Priya Dutt.

The BJP also announced names for five Karnataka seats in which B S Yeddyurappa’ aide Shobha Karandlaje has been given ticket from Udupi. The other names are : G S Basavaraj (Tumkur), Shivalingaiah (Mandya), Prathap Simha (Mysore), M Narayanaswamy (Kolar).

In Bihar, tickets have been given to sitting MP Shahnawaz Hussain from Bhagalpur, Rajya Sabha MP Rajiv Pratap Rudy from Saran, former Lalu Prasad Yadav aide Ram Kripal Yadav from Pataliputra, Giriraj Singh from Nawada.  Former Home Secretary R K Singh has been given the ticket to contest from Arrah, while cricketer-turned politician Kirti Azad has been nominated from Dharbanga.

However, BJP leaders gave indication that Bollywood actor turned politician Shatrughan Sinha could lose his ticket as a senior party leader said the decision on the seat has been put on hold to seek Sinha’s views.

The other key names are Narendra Singh Tomar from Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh, Ramtahal Chaudhary from Ranchi and Sudarshan Bhagat from Lohardaga. In Madhya Pradesh, Congress leader Bhagirath Prasad Singh who deserted the Congress in spite of getting a ticket has been given the same from the BJP.  In Kerala, the BJP has given tickets to almost all the senior state party office bearers like P C Mohanan Master (Kannur), V K Sajeevan (Vadakara), P R Rasmilnath (Wayanad), C K Padmanabhan (Kozhikode),  Adv. Sreeprakash ( Malappuram), K Narayanan (Ponnani), Sobha Surendran (Palakkad) Shajumon Vattekad (Alathur), among others.

From Lakshadweep M P Sayed Mohammaed Koya has been given a ticket.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp