Modi to Contest from Varanasi, Rajnath from Lucknow

Modi, BJP\'s Prime Ministerial candidate, will replace sitting MP and senior party leader Murli Manohar Joshi, who had been resisting the move. Joshi has been shifted to Kanpur.

Published: 15th March 2014 11:13 PM  |   Last Updated: 18th March 2014 12:35 PM   |  A+A-


BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi will contest the Lok Sabha polls from Varanasi, while party president Rajnath Singh moves to Lucknow from Ghaziabad, the BJP announced Saturday.

According to the Bharatiya Janata Party's fourth list, which has 55 candidates, released late Saturday, Arun Jaitley, the leader of opposition in Rajya Sabha, will contest the elections from Amritsar, Shatrughan Sinha from Patna Sahib, and Uma Bharati from Jhansi.

Maneka Gandhi returns to her traditional Pilibhit seat from Aonla, while her son Varun Gandhi, who was the sitting MP from Pilibhit, will now contest from Uttar Pradesh's Sultanpur - contiguous to Congress president Sonia Gandhi's Rae Bareli and vice president Rahul Gandhi's Amethi constituencies.

Senior BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi, who is sitting MP from Varanasi, moves to Kanpur.

Among the candidates announced for Delhi, where polling will be held in the second round (April 10), are state party chief Harsh Vardhan (Chandni Chowk), party spokesperson Meenakshi Lekhi (New Delhi), Pravesh Verma (West Delhi) and Ramesh Bidhuri (South Delhi).

The BJP has fielded actress Kirron Kher from Chandigarh, from where the Aam Aadmi Party is fielding model-turned-actress Gul Panag.

A downcast cricketer-turned-politician Navjot Singh Sidhu, who is sitting MP from Amritsar, told media persons earlier Saturday that he will not fight the Lok Sabha polls from anywhere except Amritsar.

Talking to reporters after meeting Rajnath Singh, Sidhu said he had no problem with Jaitley fighting from Amritsar but he had declined alternative constituencies in Delhi and Haryana and would refrain from the electoral battle.


Also Read

It's an Honour to Contest from Varanasi: Modi 

Jubilation in Varanasi as Modi Declared BJP Candidate

BJP Names LS Candidates for Delhi 

Vote for Modi for India to Become Superpower: Vijayakant

BJP Sews up its Tamil Nadu Front with DMDK, MDMK, PMK

11 Hours for Voting in Lok Sabha Polls 

Sushma, Ram Kripal, Shahnawaz in BJP's Third List

BJP Announces First List of Candidates for LS Polls in Kerala 

Congress Announces List of Candidates for Arunachal Pradesh 

Shazia Ilmi, Soni Sori in AAP's Sixth Candidates List

BJP Will Win Highest-ever Number of Seats: Advani 

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp