Women Had a Dream Run in 2009 Lok Sabha Elections

The Women candidates have a dream run in the last Lok Sabha Elections in 2009.

Published: 16th March 2014 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th March 2014 09:26 AM   |  A+A-

The Women candidates have a dream run in the last Lok Sabha Elections in 2009. Will their success stort repeat this general elections too?

Congress president Sonia Gandhi tops the list of best performing women candidates in the 2009 general elections, bagging 72.23 per cent of total votes polled in Rae Bareli. She is followed by the NCP’s Supriya Sule, with 66.46 per cent of total votes polled in Baramati.

Women candidates in Gujarat also fared better in 2009. BJP candidates Jat Poonamben (50.58 per cent), Darshana Vikram Jardosh (52.45 per cent) and Patel Jayshreeben Kanubhai won with good margins. Congress’ Prabha Kishore Tavid ( 46.89 per cent) and Nilaben Virjibhai Thummar (40.10 per cent) also performed well.

ge.PNGInterestingly, in the highly literate Kerala, women candidates didn’t fare better. CPM’s Sindhu Joy and Satheedevi lost despite securing more than 43 per cent of total votes polled in  Ernakulam and Vadakara, respectively. In Kasargod, Congress candidate Shahida Kamal also lost the election. Despite securing more than 30 per cent of total votes polled, Vairam Tamilarasi (ADMK), Gayathri (DMK) and Sarubala Thondaiman (Congress) lost in Tamil Nadu. However, Helen Davidson (DMK) won with a good margin.

In Andhra Pradesh, TRS candidate Vijaya Shanthi secured 36.67 per cent of total votes polled in Medak and won. Similarly, Congress candidates Botsa Jhansi Lakshmi ( 40.36 per cent), Daggubati Purandeshwari ( 36.43 per cent), Panabaka Lakshmi (44.15 per cent) also won. However, firebrand Renuka Chowdhury secured 33.36 per cent of total votes polled in Khammam, but lost.

In Assam, BJP’s Bijoya Chakvravarty won after securing 44.74 per cent of total votes polled in Gauhati. In Lakhimpur, Congress’ Ranee Neerah (38.73 per cent) also won. In Bihar, Rama Devi (BJP) won from Sheohar, bagging 40.80 per cent of total votes polled.  Congress candidate Meira Kumar and JD(U)’s  Aswamedh Devi and Meena Singh won with a little more than 30 per cent of total votes polled in their constituencies. In Haryana, Congress candidate Shruti Choudhry won with 35.03 per cent of total votes polled in Bhiwani. In Karnataka, BJP’s J Shanta won with 46.72 per cent of total votes polled in Bellary. But, despite securing 41.63 per cent of votes  Margaret Alwa lost from Uttara Kannada.

In Madhya Pradesh, BJP’s Yasodhara Raje (43.19 per cent) and Sumitra Mahajan (48.77 per cent), and Congress candidates Meenakshi Natrajan (48.80 per cent) and Rajesh Nandini Singh (41.86 per cent) fared better and won the elections.

In Maharastra,  Bhavana Gawali (SS), Priya Dutt (Congress) and Supriya Sule (NCP) secured comfortable victory. NCP’s Agata Sangma fared better in Meghalaya and won the election.

In Uttar Pradesh, BSP candidates Tabassum Begum, Rajkumari Chauhan and Seema Upadyay, SP’s Jayaprada, RLD’s Sarika Singh, BJP’s Menaka Gandhi and Congress’ Annu Tandon won with good margins.

In West Bengal, Congress candidates Deepadas Munshi and Mausam Noor and TMC’s Kakoli Ghosh, Mamata Banerjee and Ratna De won with good margins.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp