CPI-M Releases Third List of Lok Sabha Candidates

Published: 19th March 2014 10:37 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th March 2014 10:37 PM   |  A+A-


CPI(M) today released its third list of Lok Sabha candidates which included nine from Tamil Nadu where ruling AIADMK recently snapped its tie-up with the Left.

The list, which also includes names of three nominees from Rajasthan and one each from Chhattisgarh and Andaman and Nicobar Islands, takes the total number its candidates released so far to 88.

CPI(M)'s sitting Lok Sabha member P R Natarajan would contest from Coimbatore, while U Vasuki, senior leader of the party's women's wing AIDWA and a Central Committee member, would fight the polls from North Chennai.

The other candidates are A V Bellarmin from Kanyakumari (he had won this seat in 2004), B Vikaraman from Madurai, G Anandhan from Villipuram (SC), K Sameulraj (Virudhunagar), N Pandi (Dindigul), S Sridhar (Trichy) and another AIDWA leader S Thamizhselvi (Thanjavur).

In Rajasthan, veteran legislator and a Central Committee member Amara Ram would contest from Sikar, Indra Singh Punia from Churu and Pala Ram from Ganganagar.

While Surinder Lal Singh would be the CPI(M) candidate from Sarguja (ST) constituency in Chhattisgarh, K G Das would fight from Andaman & Nicobar.

In its strongholds, the party has already announced the names of 32 candidates from West Bengal, 15 from Kerala and two from Tripura.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp