Two Nominations Cancelled in Assam, 52 Still in Fray

Published: 22nd March 2014 08:20 PM  |   Last Updated: 22nd March 2014 08:20 PM   |  A+A-


Nominations of two candidates were rejected today during scrutiny of papers of 54 contenders for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections in Assam in five parliamentary constituencies.

The constituencies going to polls on April 7 are Tezpur, where 11 candidates had filed their nominations, Kaliabor with 13 candidates, Jorhat and Dibrugarh with 8 each and Lakhimpur with 14 aspirants.

"The nomination of Diten Saikia of AAP for Tezpur seat has been cancelled due to incomplete form. He did not fill up the section for political affiliation. He even did not fill it up properly to contest as an independent," Sonitpur DC cum Returning Officer Lalit Gogoi told PTI.

With his cancellation of papers, 10 candidates now remain in the contest, he added.

Similarly in Dibrugarh, the candidature of Aam Aadmi Party's Tapan Sutbanshi was also rejected, the Election Officer of the district Biswajit Phukan said.

Election Commission officials in Jorhat, Lakhimpur and Kaliabor said all the nominations of the respective constituencies were found to valid.

Last date for withdrawal of nominations is March 24.

Among the prominent candidates who have filed their nominations include the two Union ministers from the state -- Paban Singh Ghatowar from Dibrugarh and Ranee Narah from Lakhimpur seats.

Controversial former Congress MP Moni Kumar Subba also filed his papers as an independent from Tezpur after being rejected a ticket by the party.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp