Five Ex-police Officers in Jharkhand Poll Fray

Five former Indian Police Service (IPS) officers, including a sitting Lok Sabha MP, are in the poll fray in Jharkhand.

Published: 24th March 2014 01:11 PM  |   Last Updated: 24th March 2014 01:12 PM   |  A+A-


Five former Indian Police Service (IPS) officers, including a sitting Lok Sabha MP, are in the poll fray in Jharkhand.

They are sitting Jamshedpur MP Ajay Kumar, Amitabh Chaudhary, B.D. Ram, Subodh Prasad and Rameshwar Oraon.

Ajay Kumar was elected in a 2011 by-poll. He quit the IPS and later joined the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha-Prajatantrik (JVM-P) floated by Jharkhand's first chief minister Babulal Marandi.

Rameshwar Oraon too quit the elite police service and joined the Congress in 2004. He fought on a Congress ticket from Lohardagga and won. He was also a minister in the union government. He lost in 2009 and is now the Congress candidate from Lohardagga.

Former director general of police B.D. Ram, after superannuation, joined the Bharatiya Janata Party and is the candidate from Palamau.

Amitabh Chaudhary, who opted voluntary retirement from the IPS last year is contesting from Ranchi on a JVM-P ticket. Chaudhary, the president of the Jharkhand State Cricket Association (JSCA), is pitted against incumbent MP and former central minister Subodh Kant Sahay.

Subodh Prasad, who retired as a deputy inspector general of police, has been fielded by the All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) from Godda.

All of them say that joined politics to serve the people and develop their respective Lok Sabha constituencies.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp