BJP Faces 'Veteran Headache' in Uttar Pradesh

Published: 25th March 2014 05:27 PM  |   Last Updated: 25th March 2014 05:27 PM   |  A+A-

Two senior BJP leaders in Uttar Pradesh have revolted after being denied ticket to contest the Lok Sabha polls. Anger is simmering among some other veterans too but they are silent for now.

Ram Vilas Vedanti, a seer and party MP in 1996-97 and 1998-99, Tuesday said he had given a 48-hour deadline to the national leadership to revoke the candidature of Lallu Singh in Faizabad and field him instead.

The Faizabad parliamentary seat includes Ayodhya, where the BJP and its allied groups hope to build a grand temple for Hindu god Rama at the site of the demolished Babri mosque. 

"I have the blessings of the (Hindu) saints and I will take a final decision after two days on whether to contest as an independent or not," Vedanti told IANS.

He said he was not against BJP's prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi and alleged that some in the "saffron fold" were conspiring to prevent the Gujarat chief minister from making it to the top post. 

Swamy Chinmayanand, another BJP leader and a former union minister of state in the Atal Bihari Vajpayee government, is also upset after being sidelined in the party.

A former MP from Jaunpur, he wanted to contest the 2014 Lok Sabha election too. But the Bharatiya Janata Party refused to oblige him. 

Chinmayanand too has served a two-day deadline to BJP president Rajnath Singh. He said that in case he was not fielded in Jaunpur, he will contest as an independent. 

Both underlined that if they win as independents, they will support Modi as the prime minister.

Outgoing Lucknow MP and former Uttar Pradesh urban development minister Lalji Tandon, who wanted to contest from Lucknow again, has been forced to give way to party president Rajnath Singh, now the BJP candidate in the city. 

A confidant of Atal Bihari Vajpayee when he was prime minister, Tandon protested initially but fell in line soon and is now canvassing for Rajnath Singh.

Veterans like Surya Pratap Shahi, Om Prakash Singh and Kesharinath Tripathi have also been sidelined. 

While Surya Pratap Shahi, the state party president in the 2012 assembly polls, sought ticket for himself from Deoria, Lucknow legislator Kalraj Mishra has been picked for the seat. 

He was in tears when the announcement was made.

Om Prakash Singh, a powerful OBC face of the party in the 90's, had pitched for a ticket for his son Anurag Singh from Mirzapur. But his plea was not accepted.

Instead, Apna Dal, a BJP ally, has been allowed to field Anupriya Patel as the Apna Dal-BJP candidate.

Kesharinath Tripathi, a former speaker in the Uttar Pradesh assembly, has also been edged out. 

He wanted ticket for himself from Allahabad. But the party chose former mayor Shyama Charan Gupta, a Samajwadi Party leader who has joined the BJP ahead of the Lok Sabha election.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp