Political Parties in UP Field Five Riots Accused in LS Polls

Published: 27th March 2014 02:35 PM  |   Last Updated: 27th March 2014 02:35 PM   |  A+A-


The political parties in Uttar Pradesh have fielded at least five candidates, who are accused in Muzaffarnagar riots cases, to contest Lok Sabha elections.

The BJP has nominated Bhartendu Singh from Bijnore, Sanjeev Baliyan from Muzaffarnagar and Hukum Singh from Kairana constituency.

BSP MLA Kadir Rana from Muzaffarnagar, BKU leader and RLD candidate?Choudhary Rakesh Tikait from?Amroha LS seat are facing charges of inciting communal tension here by making inflammatory speeches.

Besides, four candidates from Kairana constituency and three candidates from Muzaffarnagar have different cases relating various offenses registered against them, Election Commission officials said.

According to affidavits filed during the nominations, Hukum Singh has two cases, Kunwar Hasan one case, SP candidate Nahid Hasan and RLD candidate Kartar Singh Bhadana have two cases each registered against them.

Kadir Rana has been booked under five different cases, including the Muzaffarnagar riots cases. Two cases are registered against Sanjeev Baliyan and SP candidate Virender Singh.

The communal violence, which had broken out on September 7, last year in Muzaffarnagar and adjoining towns, had claimed over 40 lives. It left 85 others injured and rendered 51,000 people homeless.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp