Notification Issued for Sixth Phase of Lok Sabha Polls

Published: 29th March 2014 05:29 PM  |   Last Updated: 29th March 2014 05:29 PM   |  A+A-


Notification was issued today for the sixth phase of Lok Sabha poll to 117 constituencies spread across 12 states, which will go to polls on April 24 to seal the fate of political heavyweights like SP chief Mulayam Singh Yadav and BJP leader Sushma Swaraj.

These constituencies include all the 39 seats of Tamil Nadu and the solitary constituency of Pudducherry.

The Mainpuri seat, from where the SP chief is contesting, is among the 12 constituencies of Uttar Pradesh going for the election on April 24. Yadav is also contesting from Azamgarh.

Ten seats from Madhya Pradesh, including Vidisha from where Swaraj is contesting, will go to poll on that day.

Jharkhand (four seats), Bihar and Chhattisgarh (seven each), Assam and West Bengal (six seats each), Ananthnag in Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra (19 seats) and Rajasthan (10 seats) will also go to poll on April 24.

While in Jharkhand, polling will take place between 7 AM and 4 PM, in other states, the polling hours will be from 7 AM to 6 PM.

While April 5 has been set as the last date of filing nominations, the scrutiny will take place on April 7. The candidates can withdraw from the electoral race till April 9.

On April 2, notification will be issued for Lok Sabha elections to 89 constituencies across nine states, while on April 12 another notification will be issued for the 8th phase of polling on May 7 in 64 constituencies in seven states.

The ninth and the last phase of General Election will be held on May 12 in which electorate of 41 constituencies spread across three states will exercise their franchise. The notification for the last phase will be issued on April 17.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp