Celebrity MPs cast vote  in vice-presidential poll

Many celebrities including Sachin Tendulkar actor Rekha and Hema Malini made it a point to cast their votes in the vice-presidential poll.

Published: 05th August 2017 07:42 PM  |   Last Updated: 05th August 2017 11:04 PM   |  A+A-

Cricket legend Rajya Sabha MP Sachin Tendulkar after casting his vote for Vice Presidential Election in New Delhi on Saturday. | PTI

By Express News Service

Many celebrities including Cricket legend Sachin Tendulkar actor Rekha and Hema Malini made it a point to cast their votes in the vice-presidential poll on Saturday.

On the other side, there were many lawmakers who could not participate in the polling.

The two nominated MPs of the Upper House—Sachin Tendulkar and Rekha- were accompanied to the voting room by Congress' Rajya Sabha MP Rajeev Shukla.

Rekha arrived around 11.15 am and she was seen talking with Dimple Yadav, Lok Sabha MP after casting her vote.

Tendulkar arrived later. “Not only here, but whenever voting takes place, every citizen should vote,” he said after casting his vote.

Boxer Mary Kom and BJP leaders Roopa Ganguly and Subramanian Swamy, the three other nominated members in the Rajya Sabha, also cast their votes.

Total 771 of 785 votes were cast when polling closed at 5 pm, registering 98.21 per cent voting. 90 per cent votes were polled within the first two hours, till 12 pm. There were 14 MPs who could not cast votes.

Vijay Goel and Sanwar Lal Jat, both from BJP, could not cast their vote. BJP sources said that they were unwell and are in the hospital.

Mausam Noor and Ranee Narah from Congress; Udayan Raje Bhonsle from NCP; Ambumani Ramadoss from PMK were among those who didn't cast their vote.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp