Nitish Kumar government wins floor test with 131 votes in favour

The ruling coalition of the JD(U), BJP and others got 131 votes while the opposition got 108 votes, Speaker Vijay Kumar Chowdhury said.

Published: 28th July 2017 01:22 PM  |   Last Updated: 29th July 2017 07:52 AM   |  A+A-

Nitish Kumar (File photo)

By Express News Service

PATNA: Bihar’s two-day-old JD(U)-BJP government led by chief minister Nitish Kumar of JD(U) comfortably won the trust vote on the floor of the Assembly Friday, belying claims by RJD and Congress of cross voting in their favour.

The new government, which came into being with Kumar and BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi being sworn in as chief minister and deputy chief minister on Thursday, won 131 votes, nine more than the magic figure of 122 in the House of 243 members. The Congress-RJD alliance won 108 votes.

BJP and JD(U) have 53 and 71 MLAs respectively, and the two parties got the votes of BJP’s existing allies — RLSP (2 MLAs), LJP (2 MLAs) and HAM (one). The JD(U)-BJP combine also got the votes of three independent MLAs. JD(U) MLA Vijay Chaudhary, being the speaker, was not supposed to vote. RJD and Congress have 80 and 27 MLAs respectively, and they got the support of the three Left MLAs.

One MLA each from BJP, RJD and Congress could not vote. While BJP MLA Anand Kishore Pandey was unwell and under treatment in New Delhi, RJD legislator Rajballabh Yadav is in jail, charged with the rape of a minor girl. Congress MLA Sudarshan could not vote as voting time was over when he came in.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp