Madhya Pradesh becomes sixth State to pass GST Bill 2017

Earlier, the Rajya Sabha passed four GST Bills without amendments setting the stage for the government for the launch on July 1.

Published: 03rd May 2017 05:23 PM  |   Last Updated: 03rd May 2017 06:07 PM   |  A+A-

Madhya Pradesh CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan (File | PTI)

By Express News Service

BHOPAL: Madhya Pradesh became the sixth state in the country on Wednesday to pass the Goods and Services Tax (GST) Bill 2017, which was cleared unanimously during the day-long special session of the State Assembly (an extension of the budget session of the Vidhan Sabha).
Prior to MP, Uttarakhand, Telangana, Bihar, Jharkhand and Chhattisgarh passed the GST bill. The bill was introduced in the Assembly by the state's finance minister Jayant Malaiya ensued by an hour-and-half-long debate, which saw the participation of ruling BJP members Kailash Vijayvargiya and Yashpal Singh Sisodia.

Others members included the leader of opposition Ajay Singh, party's chief whip Ramniwas Rawat, Mahendra Singh Kalukheda, Mukesh Naik, Bala Bachchan and Jaivardhan Singh.
Malaiya informed the house that several awareness workshops have been held by his department to educate all concerned about the new tax regime. "An assistance centre will be set up at the tax headquarters in the state and a help desk will also be available at all tax circle offices of the state," he added.
He further informed that all commercial tax officers have been trained in the new tax regime.
Participating in the debate, BJP national general secretary and MLA Kailash Vijayvargiya said the GST as per the World Bank and the Asian Development Bank will bring economic stability in the country by making the country's product more competitive in the global marketplace.
"The World Bank has stated that the GST will also enhance capital investment and generate more employment. By doing away with the multitude of indirect taxes, the GST regime will put a check on inflation and at the same time also render more tax revenue to the government treasury," said Vaijayvargiya.
While supporting the passage of the bill, the opposition Congress members questioned why the BJP did not support the passage of the bill in the parliament during the UPA regime at the centre.

"PM Narendra Modi, as Gujarat CM, had opposed the same GST bill in 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012," said Singh.
Senior Congress MLA Bala Bachchan urged the government to also include electricity under the ambit of the GST, as it will ensure that consumers across all states get electricity at a uniform rate.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp