Setback for Shiv Sena minister Deepak Sawant as party drops him as MLC nominee

The nomination of Potnis, a Shiv Sena Vibhag Pramukh in Mumbai, is seen as a major setback to incumbent Sena MLC and state Health Minister Deepak Sawant.

Published: 04th June 2018 09:39 PM  |   Last Updated: 04th June 2018 09:39 PM   |  A+A-

File Photo of Shiv Sena supporters | PTI


MUMBAI: The Shiv Sena today announced the candidature of party functionary Vilas Potnis for the Mumbai Graduates constituency election scheduled to be held on June 25 along with three other Maharashtra legislative council constituencies.

The nomination of Potnis, a Shiv Sena Vibhag Pramukh in Mumbai, is seen as a major setback to incumbent Sena MLC and state Health Minister Deepak Sawant.

According to sources, the Sena rank and file was upset with Sawant and did not want the party to renominate him.

Elections to four constituencies--Nashik Division Teachers', Mumbai Teachers', Mumbai Graduates', and Konkan Division Graduates' from the legislative council--were necessitated because the term of the sitting members is expiring on June 7.

The above seats are represented by Apoorva Hiray, Kapil Patil, Deepak Sawant, and Niranjan Davkhare, respectively.

Minister Sawant had called on party chief Uddhav Thackeray last week and sought to be relieved of ministerial duties to concentrate on the party organisation, the Sena said in a statement today.

The Sena has already nominated former Thane mayor Sanjay More for the Konkan Division Graduates' constituency.

He would face NCP turncoat and BJP nominee Niranjan Davkhare.

The Sena has fielded Shivaji Shendge for the Mumbai Teachers' seat.

Sena has nominated Kishore Darade from the Nashik Division Teachers' constituency, currently held by Apoorva Hiray, an Independent.

The BJP has nominated Anil Kumar Rajesing Deshmukh from the Mumbai Teachers seat where he faces challenge from Kapil Patil of the Janata Dal (United).

The last date for filing of nominations for the biennial elections is June 7, while the last date for withdrawal of candidature is June 11.

Votes will be taken up for counting on June 28.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp