Karnataka's caste conundrum makes Lok Sabha polls fight even-steven

If a caste analysis of 2014 Lok Sabha elections is taken into account, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) got maximum support from Lingayats and upper caste Hindus.

Published: 12th April 2019 12:09 PM  |   Last Updated: 12th April 2019 12:09 PM   |  A+A-

People are coming out in large numbers to cast their votes and an average 25 per cent voting is registered across all the constituencies.


NEW DELHI: Karnataka's caste combinations are such placed that apart from the two dominant communities Lingayats and Vokkaligas, the political fortunes of any of the parties are difficult to shine without the support of Other Backward Castes (OBCs) and Scheduled Castes (SCs).

If a caste analysis of 2014 Lok Sabha elections is taken into account, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) got maximum support from Lingayats and upper caste Hindus.

The Congress drew it's strength from Muslims, Christians and Scheduled Castes. The third force -- Janata Dal-Secular -- was backed most by Vokkaligas. Out of the 28 seats in the state, the BJP had won 17, Congress nine and JD-S two in 2014.

In the last elections, the Congress got 24 per cent Lingayat, 23 per cent Vokkaliga, 49 per cent SC, 65 per cent Muslim and 64 per cent Christian votes.


The BJP, on the other hand, got 58 per cent Lingayat, 32 per cent Vokkaligga, 60 per cent upper caste Hindu and 42 per cent each of ST and OBC votes. The JD-S, which is contesting in alliance with the Congress this time, got 38 per cent votes from Vokkaligga, 12 per cent each of Lingayat, OBC and SC votes.

Seven seats in the state are reserved (five SC and two ST) and in each one of them, the contest is even. In Chitradurga reserved seat, which goes to polls on April 18, BJP has fielded A. Narayanswamy against sitting MP of the Congress B.N. Chandrappa. Both belong to the dominant Madiga community.

From Chamarajanagar, another SC seat, BJP candidate V. Srinivas Prasad, five-time MP, is making a come back in electoral politics after a self-declared retirement. He will take on sitting Congress MP R. Dhruvnarayana, seeking a third term.

The Kolar SC seat is also a Congress stronghold with K.H. Muniyappa winning the seat seven times, who is seeking another term. The BJP has fielded S. Muniswamy against him who is giving a tough fight.

Muniyyappa, along with Veerappa Moily and Mallikarjun Kharge are the prominent Congress faces in the state and all three are facing battle of their lifetime.

Kharge is contesting from Gulbarga seat. He is looking to stop Lingayats from inclining towards BJP and keeping hold on backward and Dalit communities. Moily is facing stiff challenge from BJP's Vokkaliga candidate B.N. Bachegowda Chikkaballapur.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp