Lok Sabha elections 2019 Phase 2: Here's what you need to know

Voting for the general election which started on April 11 to choose the 17th Lok Sabha is taking place in seven phases.  

Published: 17th April 2019 07:08 PM  |   Last Updated: 18th April 2019 06:23 AM   |  A+A-


Security officials collect Electronic Voting Machines EVM and other election material from a distribution centre for the second phase of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections in Bhagalpur Wednesday April 17 2019. (Photo | PTI)

By Online Desk

Twelve states and one Union territory will vote on April 18 to elect representatives to 95 Lok Sabha seats.  The scheduled polling in Vellore and East Tripura has been cancelled by the President due to the abuse of money power and has been deferred from April 18 to April 23.

The states and Union territories going to the polls in Phase 2 are Assam, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Manipur, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Bengal, Chhattisgarh and Puducherry. 

The voting time on Thursday will be from 7 AM to 6 PM.  Voting for the general election which started on April 11 to choose the 17th Lok Sabha is taking place in seven phases.  

Phase 2 (April 18) - 95 seats

1. Assam: 5 seats
2. Bihar: 5 seats
3. Chhattisgarh: 3 seats
4. Jammu and Kashmir: 2 seats
5. Karnataka: 14 seats
6. Maharashtra: 10 seats
7. Manipur: 1 seat
8. Odisha: 5 seats
9. Tamil Nadu: 38 seats
10. Uttar Pradesh: 8 seats
11. West Bengal: 3 seats
12. Puducherry: 1 seat

The results of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections will be announced on May 23. Click here to find out when your constituency is going to the polls and other election-related queries.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp