Lok Sabha elections: 2008 Malegaon blasts accused Sadhvi Pragya Thakur joins BJP, will take on Digvijaya Singh in Bhopal

Though Thakur hasn’t contested any major elections till now, the post-graduate in History has been associated with RSS’ student wing ABVP and the VHP’s women wing Durga Vahini in the past.

Published: 17th April 2019 02:57 PM  |   Last Updated: 17th April 2019 04:41 PM   |  A+A-

Malegaon blast case accused Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur

Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur. (File |PTI)

By Express News Service

BHOPAL: Accused in the 2008 Malegaon blasts case, firebrand saffron leader Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur joined the BJP in presence of senior party leaders at state headquarters in Bhopal on Wednesday. 

The 48-year-old Thakur later told journalists that she would contest against Congress candidate and ex-Madhya Pradesh CM Digvijaya Singh from Bhopal and win the battle.

With the 48-year-old Thakur joining the BJP formally and announcing she will fight against Singh, the suspense on who would be BJP candidate from Bhopal seat is nearly over.

“Hum Ladenge bhi aur jeetenge bhi,” said Thakur, after joining the BJP in presence of senior party leaders, including national general secretary (organization) Ram Lal in Bhopal.


Though Thakur hasn’t contested any major elections till now, the post-graduate in History has been associated with RSS’ student wing ABVP and the VHP’s women wing Durga Vahini in the past.

Thakur, who is among those accused in the 2008 Malegaon blasts case is presently out on bail. Six persons were killed and over 100 injured when an improvised explosive device (IED) strapped on a bike went off at Malegaon on September 29, 2008.

In December 2017, the Special NIA court had dropped Maharashtra Control of Organised Crime Act charges against Thakur and other accused in the case, but trial continues against her under provisions of Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA).

The Bhopal seat has been a BJP bastion since 1989 and the notable BJP winners from seat, include ex-CMs Uma Bharti and Kailash Joshi.

On March 23 only, the Congress had announced ex-CM Digvijaya Singh as the candidate from Bhopal.

Besides, possible candidature of Thakur from Bhopal, the BJP has finalized candidates for four other remaining seats in the 29 seats strong MP. While Indore Development Authority (IDA) chairman Shankar Lalwani is likely to be fielded from Indore, ex-CM Shivraj Singh Chouhan’s close aide Ramakant Bhargava is likely to be the candidate from Vidisha seat, while new faces could be fielded from Guna and Sagar seats also.

Out of the 29 seats, BJP had won 27 seats in 2014 polls in MP.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

  • Cynthia Reilly

    Can a criminal out on bail stand for Elections???? Obviously she can - since she's a BJP leader!!! BUT RAHUL DRAVID WHO MOVED HIS RESIDENTIAL ADDRESS & FORGOT TO REGISTER HIS NEW ADDRESS
    5 months ago reply
flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp