Lok Sabha elections 2019: Maharashtra records 62.37 per cent voting in third phase

While Kolhapur recorded the highest voting at 70.70 per cent, the poorest turnout was in neighbouring Pune at 49.84 per cent.

Published: 24th April 2019 04:18 PM  |   Last Updated: 24th April 2019 04:18 PM   |  A+A-

Indian voter

For representational purposes (File | AP)


MUMBAI: Maharashtra recorded a moderate 62.37 per cent voting for the Lok Sabha constituencies in the state that voted in the third phase on Tuesday, election officials said on Wednesday.

Voting was taken up in Jalgaon, Raver, Jalna, Aurangabad, Raigad, Pune, Baramati, Ahmednagar, Madha, Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg, Kolhapur and Hathkanangale constituencies.

While Kolhapur recorded the highest voting at 70.70 per cent, the poorest turnout was in neighbouring Pune at 49.84 per cent.

The other constituencies on the higher side include Hatkanangale (70.28 per cent), Sangli (65.44), Jalna (64.55), Ahmednagar (64.26), Madha (63.58) and Aurangabad (63.41).

Low voting was recorded in Raigad (61.81 per cent), Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg (61.69), Baramati (61.54), Raver (61.40), Satara (60.37) and Jalgaon (56.12).


The average total 62.37 per cent this time is slightly lower than the 62.88 notched in 2014 elections.

In the first phase polling on April 11, the state recorded 61.81 per cent voting for seven seats and 62.91 per cent for 10 constituencies that voted on April 18 in the second phase.

In the third phase, the fate of 249 candidates including several political stalwarts, scions, royals and rebels including Shiv Sena Union Minister Anant Geete, state Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Raosaheb Danve-Patil and big political clans like the Pawars and Vikhe-Patils was sealed in EVMs.

The main contests are between the ruling BJP-Shiv Sena and the opposition Congress-Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), besides the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA) Dalit-Muslim front comprising Prakash Ambedkar's Bharipa Bahujan Mahasangh and Owaisi brothers' All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen as well as some local/regional parties.

There are several key contests among these 14 seats, nine of which are held by the BJP-Shiv Sena, while four are with the NCP, and one with the Shetkari Swabhimani Sanghatana (SSS).

The fourth and final phase of polling for the remaining 17 Lok Sabha seats of the total 48 in the state shall be held on April 29.

That phase will include the six in the country's commercial capital, besides the Mumbai Metropolitan Region.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp