Election Commission announces bypolls to two Rajya Sabha seats

The counting of votes will be held on August 26 evening after the elections.

Published: 01st August 2019 11:58 PM  |   Last Updated: 02nd August 2019 11:34 AM   |  A+A-

Rajya Sabha

Image of Rajya Sabha used for representational purpose (File Photo | PTI)


NEW DELHI: The Election Commission on Thursday announced bypolls to two Rajya Sabha seats, including the one vacated by Samajwadi Party's Neeraj Shekhar who joined the BJP.

The bypolls will be held on August 26, the EC said.

The other seat is from Rajasthan where sitting BJP member Madanlal Saini passed away.

While Saini's term was to end on April 3, 2024, Shekhar was to be a member of the upper house till 25 November, 2020.

The counting of votes will be held on August 26 evening after the elections, the EC said.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp