Lok Sabha elections 2019: Uttar Pradesh can be heading for mini-poll soon  

Uttar Pradesh Minister Rita Bahuguna Joshi is contesting the Allahabad Lok Sabha seat while another Minister Satyadev Pachauri is the BJP candidate from Kanpur. 

Published: 21st May 2019 04:07 PM  |   Last Updated: 21st May 2019 04:07 PM   |  A+A-

Lok Sabha Elections, Lok Sabha Polls, Lok Sabha 7 Phase

For representational purpose. (Photo | PTI)


LUCKNOW: Uttar Pradesh could well be heading towards a mini-election in the coming months if the results go the BJP way. A total of 13 legislators are seeking entry into the Lok Sabha this time and if these candidates win, bye-elections are sure to be held in their constituencies.

The BJP has fielded four state ministers and five legislators in the Lok Sabha elections. Two legislators from the Samajwadi Party and one each from BSP and Apna Dal are also contesting the Lok Sabha elections.

Uttar Pradesh Minister Rita Bahuguna Joshi is contesting the Allahabad Lok Sabha seat while another Minister Satyadev Pachauri is the BJP candidate from Kanpur. 


The two other ministers in the fray include S.P. Singh Baghel, who is contesting the Agra seat while Mukut Bihari Bajpai, also a minister, is the party candidate from Ambedkar Nagar.

The legislators from BJP who are contesting the Lok Sabha elections include R.K. Singh Patel, who is contesting the Banda seat. He is a legislator from Manikpur assembly seat in the same constituency.

Rajvir Singh Valmiki Diler is the BJP legislator from Iglas and he is contesting the Hathras seat.
 Upendra Rawat, BJP legislator from Jaidpur, is the party candidate for the Barabanki Lok Sabha seat.

Pradeep Chaudhary, legislator from Gangoh, is the BJP candidate from Kairana. BJP legislator from Balha Assembly seat, Akshaywar Lal Gaud is the party candidate from Bahraich.

The Samajwadi Party has fielded its senior legislator Azam Khan from the Rampur Lok Sabha seat where he is pitted against Jaya Prada of BJP.

Another SP legislator, albeit estranged, is Shivpal Yadav who is contesting the Ferozabad against SP's official candidate and his nephew Akshay Yadav. If Azam Khan and Shivpal Yadav win their elections, the SP will have to face bypolls in two seats.

The Bahujan Samaj Party has fielded its legislator Ritesh Pandey from the Ambedkar Nagar seat while the Apna Dal MLA Sangam Lal Gupta is contesting the Pratapgarh seat on a BJP ticket.

"The election season, as it is, never peters out in Uttar Pradesh and we seem to be heading for another round of by-elections in the coming months," said the leader of the opposition and SP MLA Ram Govind Chaudhary.

Stay up to date on all the latest Nation news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp