Tamil Nadu Sports Journalists’ Association annual function

Published: 26th April 2013 10:48 AM  |   Last Updated: 26th April 2013 10:48 AM   |  A+A-

The Tamil Nadu Sports Journalists’ Association will conduct its annual awards function at Hotel RainTree on Friday.

Green Valleys Shelters Private Ltd.(GVSPL) is the title sponsor. India’s tennis legend Ramanathan Krishnan, who reached the semifinals of the Wimbledon in 1960 and 1961 and marked the highest ranking ever by an Indian (3), will receive the GVSPL-Lifetime Achievement Award. He was once ranked No 3 in the world.

Murali Vijay, India’s Test opener, who had a prolific return to the Test ranks, will receive the GVSPL-Tamil Nadu Sportsperson (male) of the Year award.

Emerging woman cricket MD Thirushkamini, who became the Indian woman to score a World Cup hundred, will get the GVSPL-Tamil Nadu Sportsperson (female) of the Year award.

Ramkumar Ramanathan and R Vaishali will be given achievers’ award. Besides 10 promising athletes will get a scholarship of `25,000 each.

Awards: GVSPL-Lifetime Achievement award: Ramanathan Krishnan (tennis); GVSPL-TN Sportsperson of the Year (male): M Vijay (cricket); GVSPL-TN Sportsperson of the Year (female): MD Thirushkamini (cricket); Young Achiever award (male): Ramkumar Ramanathan (tennis); Young Achiever award (female): R Vaishali (chess); The scholarships (`25,000 each): Aishwarya Nedunchezhiyan (sailing), T Reeth Rishya (tt), AV Jayaveena (swimming), R Vignesh (volley), Rochelle Maria Macfarlane (athletics), K Murali (chess), S Karthick (football), P Naveen Kumar (hockey), K Jagan (biking) and Daryl Ferrario (cricket).

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp