IOB down Income Tax in National Club Volleyball Championship

Published: 19th March 2013 02:09 PM  |   Last Updated: 19th March 2013 02:09 PM   |  A+A-


Indian Overseas Bank did well to rally back after being a set down to beat  Income Tax (Hyderabad) 3-1 in a league round match of the National Club Volleyball Championship at Trustpuram Corporation grounds, Kodambakkam here on Monday evening. IOB won 15-25, 25-19, 27-25, 25-22.

Result: Men: IOB bt Income Tax, Hyderabad (3-1) 15-25, 25-19, 27-25, 25-22.

Punit Advances

Punit Shah of Ernest & Young defeated Rajesh Bothra of RBS 2-0 in a quartefinal match of the Chennai Super Kings Super Cup multi-sport  corporate snooker tournament.

Results: Quarterfinals: Punit Shah (Ernest & Young) bt Rajesh Bothra (RBS) 2-0; Earlier round: Punit Shah (Ernest & Young) bt Maradona (Servion Global) 2-0; M Baskaran (HP) bt M Karunakaran (HDFC) 2-1; Srivatsan (Vodafone) bt Layeequlla Baig (Jones Lang) 2-0; Mahesh Ramanathan (RBS) bt Yuvaraj Subramaniam (HDFC) 2-0; Rajesh Bothra (RBS) bt Manohar Kumaravel (HP) 2-0; Sunny Jadhwani (Accenture) bt Fazal Ahmed (Tata Capital) 2-0; Gautam Venkataramani (India Pistons) bt Praveen Kumar (Standard Chartered) 2-0; Mahesh Ramanathan (RBS) bt Vikas Alagarsamy  (Accenture) 2-0; Rajesh Bothra (RBS) bt Vigneshwaran (Capgemini) 2-1; Siddharth Rao (India Pistons) bt Mohammad Ibrahim (Servion Global) 2-0; Punit Shah (Ernest & Young) bt Sunny Jadhwani (Accenture) 2-1; M Baskaran (HP) bt Sri Krishna (Ernest & Young) 2-0.

Santhosh Sizzles

S Santhosh Shiv unbeaten century (103 no) paved the way for Brindavan CC to defeat Krishnaraj RC by five wickets in a First Division match of the TNCA-Kancheepuram DCA league.

Brief scores: First Division: Krishnaraj RC 182 for 9 in 45 overs (V Aditya 45, R Aashish Kumar 4/51, Sai Kishore 4/62) lost to Brindavan CC 184 for 5 in 36 overs ( S Santhosh Shiv 103 no, R Aashish Kumar 51); 2nd Division: Rane Engine Valves RC 141 in 29.1 overs (N Anand 31 no, V Jayaram 4/37, V Sriram 3/41) bt Fine Star CC 64 in 17.5 overs (G Selvakumar 5/12, Om Prakash 3/31); Saralee RC 177 for 6 in 30 overs (K Dinakaran 104 no, V Bhoopathi 3/56) bt Bharath CC 171 for 9 in 30 overs (C Kingsley 43, R Thirumal  47 no).

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp