Akhil, Vishnu Star on Day 1

Published: 09th August 2015 04:23 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th August 2015 04:23 AM   |  A+A-


COIMBATORE: Akhil Rabindra drove the perfect race, leading from start to finish in Race 1 of the JK Racing India Series as the 18th JK Tyre Racing Championship got off to a rousing start at the Kari Motor Speedway here on Saturday.

Vishnu Prasad also had a day to remember, winning both races in the Formula LGB4 category while Sailesh Bolisetti took the chequered flag in the inaugural race of the Volkswagen Vento Cup.

Akhil, after succesfully qualifying in pole, maintained his lead through 15 laps. It was a fight for second as Dhruv Mohite, who had started off from fourth, raced past other drivers and finished second. Vishnu could only manage third.

The first race of the Formula LGB4 class saw Vishnu pip Ajay Kini of Dark Don Racing to top spot. Rohit Khanna from New Delhi, who had started from tenth place, finished third. Vishnu continued his dominance in the second race. The surprise element was Raghul Rangaswamy from Chennai (Meco Racing), who finished second. Karthik Shankar from New Delhi, Team Avalanche Racing, finished third. 

The inaugural race of the Volkswagen Vento Cup, which replaces the Polo Cup, saw Sailesh dominate the affair. Anindith Reddy Konda from Hyderabad and Karminder Singh from Delhi finished second and third respectively.

Provisional results: Formula LGB 4: Race 1 (15 laps): 1. Vishnu Prasad, 2. Ajay Kini, 3. Rohit Khanna. Race 2: 1. Vishnu, 2. Raghul Rangswamy, 3. Karthik Shankar. JK Racing India Series: Race 1 (15 laps): 1. Akhil Rabindra, 2. Dhruv Mohite, 3. Vishnu. JK Tyre-Volkswagen Vento Cup (15 laps): (Race 1): 1. Sailesh Bolisetti, 2. Anindith Reddy Konda, 3. Karminder Singh.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp