Chennai Teams Best in Regional Hockey

Published: 01st February 2015 06:04 AM  |   Last Updated: 01st February 2015 06:04 AM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: Chennai men and women teams won their final league matches to clinch the SDAT Chief Minister’s Trophy regional level hockey tournament.

In the men’s segment, Chennai defeated Kancheepuram 10-1. The women thrashed Cuddalore 19-0. Each of the 18 players in the teams were awarded `5000. The players of the second placed teams got `3000 each. Those finishing third bagged `2000 each.

Men: Krishnagiri bt Cuddalore 2-1; Chennai bt Kancheepuram 10-1. Women: Chennai bt Cuddalore 19-0;  Tiruvanamallai bt Tiruvallur 2-1.

Standings: Men: 1. Chennai. 2. Kancheepuram, 3. Krishnagiri. Women: 1. Chennai. 2. Tiruvanamallai. 3. Tiruvallur.

CFC Initiative

Chennaiyin FC conducted a workshop for the training of grassroots coaches on Saturday. It was held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium with 51 participants.

The workshop was overseen by Chennaiyin FC assistant coach Vivek Nagul and head of operations, Varun Tripuraneni.

U-21 Hockey

Eighteen players have been selected to represent the Tamil Nadu hockey team after selection trials in Madurai for the Vinod Khandhar U-21 All India Gold Cup in Jhansi. The tournament will start from February 1.

Team: M Subramaniam, P Poun Pandi, P Nambi Ganesh, S Melvin Joseph, Deepak Ganesh, Judson, L Rajasekar, RT Raguram, R Asai Thambi, Viviekraj, R Pitchaimani, M Gokul Raja, R J Pradeep Kumar, S Jagan, V Dhanakumar, RP Balamurugan, R Suriya Prasath, AV Ajay.

Coach: Rajakumar.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp