Indian Athletics Team Leaves for Asian Youth Championships

The team members include upcoming talents like Beant Singh (800m) and Jisna Mathew (200m, 400m) — a trainee of P T Usha.

Published: 06th May 2015 04:11 PM  |   Last Updated: 06th May 2015 04:11 PM   |  A+A-


NEW DELHI: A 22-member Indian athletics team, comprising nine girls and 13 boys, left here for Doha on Wednesday to take part in the first-ever Asian Youth Championships to be held from May 8 to 11.

The team members include upcoming talents like Beant Singh (800 metres), Jisna Mathew (200m, 400m) -- a trainee of the legendary P.T. Usha, high jumper Tejaswin Shankar, and hammer throwers Abhishek Drall and Ashish Jakhar who shot into the limelight at the national level in 2014.

The competition will witness more than 400 athletes from more than 40 countries along with 170 coaches, support and medical staff.

The Indian team was selected on the basis of performance at the National Youth Championships held at Goa in April which was followed by a week-long training camp at Sonepat. The team has a packed calendar this year with the World Youth Championships and the Commonwealth Youth Games slated to be held later this year.

"The youth programme is an integral and key component of AFI’s overall training programme to produce elite athletes who can excel at the Olympics and also popularise athletics amongst the masses,” Athletics Federation of India (AFI) president Adille Sumariwalla said while extending his best wishes for the Indian contingent.

The team:

Girls: Aleesha Panachikkal Raju, Anumol Thampi (3,000m), Durga Pramod Deore (1,500m), Jisna Mathew (200m & 400m), Sayana Prabhakaran Omana (400m H), Seema (discus throw), Tiasha Samadder (400m H), Laimwn Narzary (high jump), Sonal Goyal (shot put & discus throw).

Boys: Abhishek Drall (javelin throw), Ashish Bhalothia (shot put), Ashish Jakhar (hammer throw), Beant Singh (800m), Chandan Bauri (200m & 400m), Kishan Narshi Tadvi (3,000m), Meraj Ali (hammer throw), Mohd. Hadeesh (javelin throw), Nuzrat (100m), Sonu Kumar (long and triple jump), Tejaswin Shankar (high jump), Rajesh Ramasamy (decathlon) and Chirag (200m).

Chief coach: Wazir Singh.

Coaches: Jaipal Singh and Renu (Bala) Kohli.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp