Hockey India announces men’s team for Asia Cup

Hockey India announced the 18-member Indian men’s hockey team for the Asia Cup which takes place from October 11th- 22nd in Bangladesh.

Published: 16th September 2017 03:58 PM  |   Last Updated: 16th September 2017 03:58 PM   |  A+A-

Indian Hockey Team (Photo Courtesy: Twitter)


NEW DELHI: Hockey India on Saturday announced the 18-member Indian men’s hockey team for the Asia Cup which takes place from October 11th- 22nd in Dhaka, Bangladesh.

The team will be captained by Manpreet Singh while S.V Sunil will shoulder the duties of vice-captain.

After giving some top junior players some good exposure in the recent Europe Tour, Hockey India named a squad with a balance of youth and experience. 

Goalkeepers Akash Chikte and Suraj Karkera retain their spot in the squad whereas defenders Harmanpreet Singh and Surender Kumar make a return after being rested for the Europe Tour. 

The 18-member team will also see the return of experienced hands in Sardar Singh, SV Sunil, Akashdeep Singh and Satbir Singh.

“I am looking forward to working with the team which has been picked to have a good blend of experience and youth. The upcoming Hero Asia Cup 2017 will be our first tournament together, and I am very excited to see how the team expresses their leadership qualities on the field. I have previously watched the team live in Netherlands, and I feel that the energy within the team and their play is very impressive. We will be focusing on performing well as a team and will be aiming to win the tournament,” expressed chief coach Sjoerd Marijne.

India feature in Pool A alongside Japan, hosts Bangladesh and Pakistan. They will start their tournament against Japan on October 11, 2017 before facing Bangladesh on October 13, 2017. The team will play their third and final league match of the Hero Asia Cup 2017 against Pakistan on October 15, 2017.

Ahead of their departure for the Asia Cup, the national squad will continue their National Camp until October 5.


1.     Akash Anil Chikte
2.     Suraj Karkera

3.     Dipsan Tirkey
4.     Kothajit Singh
5.     Surender Kumar
6.     Harmanpreet Singh
7.     Varun Kumar

8.    SK Uthappa
9.    Sardar Singh
10.  Manpreet Singh (Captain)
11.  Chinglensana Singh 
12.  Sumit
13.  SV Sunil (Vice Captain)
14.  Akashdeep Singh
15.  Ramandeep Singh
16.  Lalit Kumar Upadhyay
17.  Gurjant Singh
18.  Satbir Singh
India will play Japan in their first match on 11 October.

Stay up to date on all the latest Sport news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.