Graduate MLC polling shows poor turnout

Published: 22nd February 2013 09:37 AM  |   Last Updated: 22nd February 2013 09:37 AM   |  A+A-

Elections for six MLC--three teacher and three graduate--constituencies in the state concluded smoothly without any untoward incident.

The polling for the teacher and graduate MLC constituencies exhibited a contrast. While the teacher constituencies recorded a high percentage of polling, graduate constituencies recorded low polling compared to previous elections.

Briefing mediapersons, chief electoral officer Bhanwar Lal said voting at 1,431 polling stations in the six constituencies was held form 8 am to 4 pm. “While the polling percentage was good in teacher constituencies, it was not satisfactory in the graduate constituencies. The reasons for the low turnout of voters in graduate constituencies need to be analysed,” he said.

The Srikakulam-Vizianagaram-Visakhapatnam teacher constituency recorded 92 percent of polling, against the 85 percent in the last elections held in 2007. In all, seven candidates were in the fray for the MLC seat.

Voting was 84 percent in Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad-Karimnagar teacher constituency, which was same as in previous election. Six candidates were in the fray for the seat.

The Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda teacher constituency recorded 91 percent of polling, against 87 percent in the previous election. Here too, six candidates were in the fray.

The graduate constituency of East and West Godavari recorded only 53 percent voting. It was 68 percent in the previous election, showing a drop of 15 percent. As many as 30 candidates were vying for the seat.

In Krishna and Guntur graduate constituency, 46 percent of votes were polled, compared to 58 percent in the previous elections, recording a drop of 12 percent. As many as 19 candidates contested for the seat.

The lowest voter turnout of 37 percent was recorded in Medak-Nizamabad-Adilabad-Karimnagar graduate constituency. against the 64 percent in the previous election, showing a drop of 27 percent. As many as 16 candidates were contesting for the seat.

Counting of votes will be held on February 25 from 8 am onwards at six centres. Each centre will have 14 counting tables.

The counting procedure for MLC elections will be different from other polls. Here, if any candidate secures 50 percent plus 1 vote in first round, he will be declared winner. If not, there will be elimination rounds to determine the winner.

In all, 134 supervisors, 206 counting assistants and 118 micro-observers will be handle the counting.

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp