YSR Congress Wins Nellore Zilla Parishad Chairman

Election to the ZP has drawn much attention getting postponed twice forcing the courts and Election Commission to intervene.

Published: 21st July 2014 08:07 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st July 2014 09:22 AM   |  A+A-


NELLORE : Amid high drama and tension, the election to Nellore Zilla Parishad chairperson and vice-chairperson, cancelled twice earlier due to unruly scenes, was held today and luck favoured the YSRCP and both the positions were wrested by the party. The election had to be conducted through lucky dip after the YSRCP and the ruling TDP got tied in the 46-member ZP.

Election to the ZP has drawn much attention getting postponed twice forcing the courts and Election Commission to intervene.

Of the 46-strong ZP, the YSRCP won 31 seats while the remaining by the TDP. However, soon after the results of the general elections, eight YSRCP members switched loyalties to TDP and the former party cried foul over the manner in which its members were lured and taken away by the ruling party. After getting postponed twice, the election was held on Sunday in the presence of EC observers and police providing security to elected members.

Around 12.30 pm on Sunday, both YSRCP and TDP ZPTC members arrived at ZP Hall along with their party leaders. Eight YSRCP ZPTC members including Kavali Rural ZPTC Penchalamma who joined TDP came in a vehicle provided by the TDP and wearing the party Kanduvas. The eight ZPTCs occupied their seats in a separate gallery set up for them in view to prevent any unruly scenes.

The 23 YSRCP ZPTCs and 15 TDP ZPTCs occupied their seats in separate galleries allocated for them. Collector N Srikanth who along with election observer B Ramanjaneyulu entered the meeting hall exactly at 1 pm performed group swearing in, a first-of-its-kind, for both YSRCP and TDP rather than individually to avoid untoward incidents and delay in the process. Later, the election to co-option members was completed by 1.45 pm and both the parties secured each one post in the election.

Soon after the election of co-opted members, the proceedings were postponed till 3 pm when the collector started the proceedings for electing ZP chairman and vice chairman. In the voting done by raising hands, the TDP and YSRCP secured 23 votes each and it was decided to conduct the election through lucky dip.

The names of the two contestants -- Bommireddy Raghavendra Reddy (YSRCP) and Venaati Rama Chandra Reddy (TDP) -- were written on separate chits and one of them was picked. Luck favoured Raghavendra Reddy.

Similar process was held for electing vice-chairperson and YSRCP’s Sydapuram ZPTC member S Sirisha was elected.

Taste of success

God acted in favour of Dharma. In spite of ruling TDP adopting undemocratic procedures and misusing power to grab the ZP, the YSRCP won the ZP. However, I will ensure equal justice towards rival party members also when it comes to development

Stay up to date on all the latest Andhra Pradesh news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp