Spurned, 3 independents make it

Published: 09th May 2013 08:21 AM  |   Last Updated: 09th May 2013 08:21 AM   |  A+A-

As many as three members, who failed to secure the Congress tickets and contested the election as independents, have won in the election.

While S N Subbareddy, who had lobbied hard to get the party ticket to contest the elections, has trounced N Sampangi (sitting MLA) in Bagepalli constituency, G Manjunatha has defeated another sitting Congress MLA Amaresh in Mulbagal (SC) segment.

Santeesh Sail Krishna has defeated BJP candidate Anand Asnotikar by a margin of over 30,000 votes in Karwar. The Congress candidate had managed to secure third position. As many as nine independents have been elected to the Assembly.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp