4 Defence Scientists Receive DRDO Award

Published: 21st August 2014 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 21st August 2014 04:21 AM   |  A+A-


BANGALORE: Four defence scientists from the city were among the recipients of DRDO Awards-2013 presented by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in New Delhi on Wednesday.

The ‘Performance Excellence Award’ was given to P S Subramanyam, Director, Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) and Dr K Tamilmani, former Chief Executive, Centre for Military Airworthiness and Certification.

The duo and their respective teams were selected for this top award for their contribution in the design, development and certification of the Tejas aircraft. Dr Tamilmani is currently the Director-General (Aero), DRDO. Speaking to Express, Subramanyam said the award is in recognition to the team work of various stake-holders in the Tejas project.  “We are on track towards the first series production Tejas fighter joining the Indian Air Force. This award will definitely inspire the team,” Subramanyam said.

The other awardees from the city included, K Ravi Sankar, Scientist ‘F’, Centre for Artificial Intelligence and Robotics, for his contributions in developing security solutions for strategic communication network. S Mohan, Emeritus Professor, Indian Institute of Science, received an award from Modi for his contributions to various DRDO projects. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp