Centre Agrees to Upgrade 1,656km of State and National Highways

14 State Highways to be upgraded; all of them will be toll roads with six lanes

Published: 15th January 2016 05:40 AM  |   Last Updated: 15th January 2016 05:45 AM   |  A+A-

BENGALURU:  Giving a big boost to transport infrastructure in Karnataka, the Union government has agreed to upgrade 14 State Highways, running a total length of 1,656 km, as National Highways.

Presently, Karnataka has about 6,432 km of National Highways and it will go up to 8,088 km after upgradation of these roads. It compares favourably with other big states like Maharashtra (7,040 km), Rajasthan (7,886 km), Uttar Pradesh (7,863 km), Andhra Pradesh (7,356 km), Tamil Nadu (5,600 km) and Kerala (1,811 km), Public Works Department Minister H C Mahadevappa said on Thursday. All these roads would be toll roads with six lanes. The roads proposed to be upgraded and their length is as follows.

On the Fast Lane

●  From junction of NH-52 near Yellapur connecting Siddapura-Talaguppa and terminating at its junction with NH-66 near Bhatkal - 219 km.

●  From junction of NH-48 near Belagavi connecting Bagalkot and terminating at its junction with NH-167 near Raichur - 336 km.

●  From Sirsi, Haveri, Kudligi and terminating at its junction with NH-150A near Molakalmuru - 247 km.

●  From junction of NH-766 near Kalpetta connecting Mananthavadi in Kerala, HD Kote-Jayapura and terminating at Mysuru in Karnataka - 103 km.

●  From junction of NH-69 near Chintamani connecting Cheluru, Rayacheruvu in Karnataka up to Junction of NH-42 near Tanakal in AP - 55 km.

●  From junction of NH-150A near Molakalmuru-Rayadurga-Anantpur to Junction of NH-44 - 12 km.

●  Tumakuru-Koratagere-Pavagada-Kalyanadurga joining up at Vepralla - 95 km.

●  From junction of NH-67 near Ramanagar and terminating at its junction with NH-66 near Sadashivghad - 118 km.

●  From junction of NH-48 near Davanagere and terminating at its junction with NH-369 near Chennagiri - 60 km.

●  From junction of NH-48 near Chitradurga connecting Challakere, Pavagada in Karnataka and terminating at its junction with NH-44 near Penukonda in AP - 120 km.

●  From junction of NH-50 near Kalaburagi and terminating at its junction with NH-65 near Umerga - 64 km.

●  From junction of NH-48 near Sankeshwar connecting Gokak, Yargatta, Munavalli and terminating at its junction with NH-52 near Naragund - 127 km.

●   Mysuru-Bannur-Malavalli SH-33 - 50 km.

●  Khanapura-Yelolapura - 50 km.

Service Road’s All Along Bengaluru-Mysuru NH

Motorists will have to pay toll to use the busy Bengaluru-Mysuru road once it is upgraded to a six-lane national highway. Union Minister for Highways Nitin Gadkari will soon launch the upgradation work. Anticipating trouble from motorists on this highway which has many densely populated cities along the stretch, the state government had made it clear that this National Highway will need service roads along the entire stretch of the highway. Giving this assurance, Mahadevappa said those who do not want to shell out the toll can use the toll-free service road. The Detailed Project Report also mentions bypass roads around all the towns along the highway - Bidadi, Ramanagaram, Channapatna, Maddur, Mandya, Srirangapatna -- to ensure seamless movement of vehicles and reduce travel time.

State Bullish on Shiradi Tunnel Road

The state government is hoping to set the ball rolling on the tunnel bypass road at Shiradi Ghat on Bengaluru-Mangaluru highway. “The environment impact assessment report is expected within the next few days and is said to be positive,” PWD minister Mahadevappa said. Japan International Co-operation Agency (JICA) has expressed readiness to fund the project which is expected to cost over `10,000 crore. The existing ghat stretch on the highway is 47-km long. However, the proposed tunnel bypass road is expected to be 29 km and provides seamless travel through the ghat stretch. The second phase of the work on widening and concretising the Shiradi Ghat road will start in a couple of months, he assured.

Stay up to date on all the latest Karnataka news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp