Rajagopalan to continue as CPM Kollam secretary

KOLLAM:  Despite failing to avoid a contest, the official faction gained a clear upper hand in CPM Kollam district  committee, which was long boasted by the VS faction as it citadel.

Published: 05th January 2012 02:45 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th May 2012 06:08 PM   |  A+A-

KOLLAM:  Despite failing to avoid a contest, the official faction gained a clear upper hand in CPM Kollam district  committee, which was long boasted by the VS faction as it citadel.

The four VS loyalists who contested against the 43-member official panel of the outgoing committee suffered defeat. However, as expected, the current district secretary K Rajagopal will continue in the office for the fourth term in a row.

Out of the seven new members to the district committee, five are Pinaryi loyalists. While strong VS supporters Karingannoor Murali and M Gangadhara Kurup made it to the panel, the Pinarayi loyalists Anchalummodu area secretary V K Anirudhan, Kollam area secretary P Somanathan, former Kadakkal area secretary Karakulam Babu, Karshaka Sangham leader C Baldwin, KSKTU leader C Thankapan too found place in the committee.  VS faction leaders K V Rajendran and C Mukesh were excluded from the district committee and B Raghavan opted himself out of the committee. It was earlier said that B Raghavan’s exclusion was an attempt to sack Mercykuttyamma, an advocate of VS faction. However, she was retained.

It is learnt that at least 27 members of the committee supports the official faction.  Earlier, the CPM state leadership tried its best to avoid an election and reach a consensus. Two torchbearers of the VS faction in the district, X Earnest and P R Vasanthan, were roped in by the official faction using pressure tactics. This turned out to be a key move which helped Pinarayi faction in gaining upper hand in the district committee.

The district secretariat meeting ran into late noon, in its attempt to avoid a contest. Following the failure of the consensus talks, an election held in which K V Rajendran, J Biju, N Santhosh and Rajagopalan Nair contested from the VS faction against the 43-member official panel. However, the official panels emerged victors. A 44-member delegation was also selected for the state conference.  The three-day party conference concluded on Wednesday with a mass rally attended by hundreds of party workers from various parts of the district. The mass rally from Asramam Maidan culminated at Cantonment maidan, where the party leaders, including Pinarayi Vijayan and V S Achuthanandan addressed the party workers at a public meeting.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp