Sahitya Akademi Fellowship for Kecheri, N S Madhavan

Published: 20th December 2014 06:04 AM  |   Last Updated: 20th December 2014 06:04 AM   |  A+A-

THRISSUR: Kerala Sahitya Akademi fellowships and awards for 2013 have been announced. Lyricist and poet Yusuf Ali Kecheri and writer N S Madhavan have been selected for the prestigious Akademi fellowships, said Akademi president Perumbadavam Sreedharan at a press conference here on Friday.

The fellowship comprises a purse of Rs 50,000,  a gold locket, citation and a plaque.

P R Nathan, S K Vasanthan, D Sreeman Namboothiri, K P Sasidharan and M D Rathnamma were chosen for awards for overall contribution. Those who have completed the age of 60 were considered for the award. The awards carry a cash prize of Rs 30,000, ponnada and plaque each.

Capture.JPGThe following are the awards in different categories - K R Meera for Aarachar under the Novel category, K R Tony for Oh Nishada- poem category, Rafeeq Mangalsherry for Jinnu Krisnan -Drama, Thomas Joseph for Marichavar Cinema Kanukayanu - Short story, Sunil P Ilayidom for Anjathavumayulla Abhimugangal - Literary criticism, K Rajasekharan Nair for Samsmrithi - Scholarly literature, Bhagyalakshmi for Swarabhedangal under Autobiography category, P Surendran for Gramapathakal- Indian Yathrakalude Pusthakam - under Travelogue, N Moosakutty for Ulysses under the Translation category, Sippy Pallippuram for Unnikalkku Noottiyettu Gurudevakathakal - Children’s literature) and P Sethunadhan for Malayalaperuma under Humour literature. The award carries a purse of  Rs 25,000, a citation and a plaque.

The following are the endowment awards: I C Chacko Award (M N Karassery/Thaimozhi- Bhasha Padanam- Vyakaranam- Shasthra Padanam); C B Kumar Award (Adoor Gopalakrishnan / Cinema Samskaram - Essay); K R Namboothiri award  (J P Prajith /Thandrasahithyam - / spiritual literature); Kanakasree Award (Sampreetha / Neettezhuthu- Poem); Geetha Hiranyan Award (Jacob Abraham/ Tattoo - short story collection), G N Pillai award (Saji James/ Silent Valley: Oru Paristhithi Samarathinte Charithram - Scholarly literature).

The endowment award carries a cash prize ranging from Rs 2,000 to Rs 5,000.

The Sahitya Akademi awards and fellowships will be presented at a function to be held as part of the annual celebration of the Kerala Sahitya Akademi in Thrissur.  Akademi secretary R Gopalakrishnan, vice-president Akbar Kakkattil, executive members

P K Parakkadavu and Shornur Karthikeyan and Ajithan Menathu attended the press meet held at the Kerala Sahitya Akademi.

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp