Stones pelted at buses ferrying BJP workers

Buses transporting BJP workers were attacked while going to and returning from the party’s Janaraksha Yatra in Payyanur on Tuesday, said party leaders.

Published: 04th October 2017 01:12 AM  |   Last Updated: 04th October 2017 07:37 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

NILESHWARAM : Buses transporting BJP workers were attacked while going to and returning from the party’s Janaraksha Yatra in Payyanur on Tuesday, said party leaders. Stones were thrown at the vehicles between Karivellur and Padannakkad, they said. Around 8.30 pm, a motorcycle-borne gang threw stones at one of the buses carrying BJP workers at Padannakkad. Former Kasargod councillor Leelamani and a worker Kishore Kumar suffered serious injuries. “The teeth of Kishore Kumar were broken and Leelamani suffered injuries on the head,” said a BJP worker. 

Road blocked
The BJP workers blocked the national highway soon after the incident at Padannakkad, causing heavy traffic jam. Senior police officers, including the inspector general of police (Kannur Range), rushed to the spot to placate the protesters. BJP district president K Shreekanth said the attacks were carried out by the CPM workers with the knowledge of the party leadership. In the morning, the buses came under attack from suspected CPM workers at Pallikkara in Nileshwaram and Cheruvathur. The BJP supporters said stones were thrown at three buses near the house of P Karunakaran MP on the highway. The windshield of a bus named ‘Firoz’ was shattered and the window panes of another bus, ‘Gazal’, was also damaged. The buses were attacked again while returning at Karivellur, Cheruvathur, Nileshwaram and Padannakkad, said BJP district president K Shreekanth. “The police completely failed in their duty to give protection to the people going to attend a function of the president of a national party,” he said. 

BJP workers assaulted
BJP workers were assaulted by suspected CPM workers at Nileshwaram on Monday night. Around 20 suspected CPM workers attacked BJP men setting up flags and buntings at the Market Junction on the national highway as part of the Janaraksha Yatra. The BJP leaders said its Trikaripur mandalam secretary Vijayakumar, Nileshwaram municipality president Sukumaran and BMS zonal president P Krishnakumar were injured in the attack around 9.30 pm on Monday. Krishnakumar suffered injuries on the head. 

Yogi Adityanath to join the rally

Kannur: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will participate in the Janarakshayathra on Wednesday, BJP sources said. He will walk with the leader of the march, Kummanam Rajasekharan, from Keecheri to Kannur Town. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp