Kerala Boat Race League to make a splash from this season

Ending months-long speculation and deliberations, and the acclaimed IPL format is taking to the waters of the state with the Kerala boat race set to premier in the league style starting this season. 

Published: 12th June 2018 03:13 AM  |   Last Updated: 12th June 2018 03:13 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

TIRUVANANTHAPURAM : Ending months-long speculation and deliberations, and the acclaimed IPL format is taking to the waters of the state with the Kerala boat race set to premier in the league style starting this season. Billed as the first ever attempt in the history of the snake boat races in the state, the Kerala Tourism Department is holding the Kerala Boat Race League (KBRL) by bringing the major boat races in the state - from the Nehru Trophy boat race at Punnamada lake to President’s Trophy Boat Race in Kollam - under a single platform. 

The two-month-long regatta, as with the celebrated IPL format, makes 75 per cent local participation mandatory, and limits the participation of oarsmen from other states and abroad to 25 per cent. There will be a series of league rounds to decide the finalists of the event. Tourism Minister Kadakampally Surendran said the main boat races venues from five districts - Kollam, Alappuzha, Kottayam, Ernakulam, and Thrissur - will be included in the league rounds of the KBRL. The qualifying round for the league will be the Nehru Trophy Boat Race which begins on August 11; followed by the league rounds. The final of the league will be the famed President’s Trophy Boat Race in Kollam. 

Out of the 20 teams contesting in the Nehru Trophy Boat Race, nine top teams will be selected for the league rounds to be held in Punnamada, Pulinkunnu, Kainakari, Karuvatta, Mavelikkara, Kayamkulam, Piravom, Poothotta, Kottappuram, Thazathangadi, Kallada and Kollam boat races.  Each team that qualifies for the league round will be given a sum of  Rs 4 lakh as bonus for each venue. The top three performers in each league will be given prize money ranging from  Rs 1 lakh to  Rs 5 lakh. The state government is planning to provide cash prize ranging from  Rs 6 lakh to  Rs 10 lakh for the winners in the final to be held in Kollam on November 1, said the minister. 

It is expected the event would cost around Rs 15 crore and the state government has earmarked a fund of  ` 10 crore for the event. The balance amount will be collected through sponsorship, the minister said. The event will be a two-month-long visual treat for tourists who visit the state to witness the regatta. The Tourism Department will hold promotional campaigns on international platforms to attract more tourists, he added. Though the main snake boat races will be brought under the league, the events organised as part of the traditional ceremonies will be spared from the league. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

  • Soban Soundararajan

    When is the Kallada Boat Race in Monroe island going to be held? The date and approximate time of the event please...
    5 months ago reply
flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp