Malayalam detective fiction writer Kottayam Pushpanath passes away

Noted detective novelist Kottayam Pushpanath, who expanded the world of horror fiction in Malayalam literature, died due to age-related ailments here today.

Published: 02nd May 2018 01:55 PM  |   Last Updated: 02nd May 2018 02:58 PM   |  A+A-

Kottayam Pushpanath | Express photo

By Express News Service

KOTTAYAM: Malayalam detective fiction writer Kottayam Pushpanath, whose skillful writing and thrilling story plots had people waiting anxiously for the next issue of the leading Malayalam weeklies during the 70s and 80s, is no more. He was 80-years-old. The funeral will be held on Friday. 

He had written numerous mainstream novels, science and horror fiction, and translated Bram Stoker's Dracula into Malayalam. A major share of the prolific author's works came out in the 1970s and 1980s. 

In the tradition of Sherlock Holmes and Hercule Poirot, Pushpanath had created two fictional detectives Marx and Pushparaj. If the story is set somewhere in India, Pushparaj often takes the role of the lead detective officer. Otherwise, detective Marx is the protagonist. Detective Sudheer also appears in the lead role in some of his novels. He has written over 300 novels. Kottayam Pushpanath or Pushpanath Pillai used to teach history but quit his job to penning thrilling and intriguing detective novels. 

Cardinalinte Maranam, Nepoleante Prathima, Yakshikavu, London Kottarathile Rahasayangal, Brahmarakshas, Tornado, The Murder, Dracula Kotta and Devil's Corner are some of his well-known novels. His novels have been translated into Tamil, Kannada and Telugu. Two of his novels Brahma Rakshas and Chuvanna Angi had been made into films. 

His son Salim Pushparaj, who was travel and wildlife photographer had recently passed away. He is survived by his wife Mariamma. 

Stay up to date on all the latest Kerala news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)

Comments

Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

facebook twitter whatsapp