Irregularities force BJP to call off polls in 15 districts

The ongoing party elections will continue, but elections in 15 districts, where maximum irregularities have been reported, will not be recognised, the sources said.

Published: 14th October 2012 11:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 14th October 2012 11:00 AM   |  A+A-

Flooded with petitions from nearly 20 districts where organisational elections are being conducted in a biased manner, the central leadership of the BJP has reportedly decided to call off polls in 15 of them.

“After going through the complaints and cross-checking facts from districts, a four-member committee headed by national BJP president Nitin Gadkari recently decided not to recognise the elections in 15 of the 37 organisational districts,” informed sources in the party said.

The other members of the committee, include national general secretary (organisation) Ram Lal, national general secretary and election officer Thawar Chand Gehlot and membership in-charge Radhamohan Singh, MP.

Serious irregularities like enrolment of fake members and members from the voter lists, distribution of membership books in a partisan manner, deliberate deletion of primary members oppose to the present dispensation, non-supply of membership forms to a large number of senior party members for active membership were brought to the notice of the central leadership.

National secretary in-charge of Odisha Santosh Gangwar who visited the State last week was specifically deputed to verify the complaints received from the districts. Party workers from several districts met and apprised him of the situation in their districts. They reportedly told him that active members of the party have been ignored while those indulging in anti-party activities were given the election charge.

Senior party leader Bijay Mohapatra, leader of the BJP Legislature Party KV Singhdeo, former minister Manmohan Samal, former deputy chief whip Mohan Majhi, Krushna Jagdev and Sameer Mohanty have not been given enrolment form to become active members.

The ongoing party elections will continue, but elections in 15 districts, where maximum irregularities have been reported, will not be recognised, the sources said.

The 15 districts include Rairangpur, Baripada, Balasore, Bhadrak, Jajpur, Kendrapara, Cuttack city, Dhenkanal, Keonjhar, Balangir, Bargarh, Boudh, Koraput and Puri. Nabarangpur is the only district which could not qualify for organisational poll.

The party is all set to form block-level committees, election for which has been scheduled on October 16 and 17. Several senior party leaders, including sitting MLAs and former MLAs, told this paper that they are not involved in the election process.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp