Soubhagya Ravenshaw University president

Published: 20th October 2012 12:20 PM  |   Last Updated: 20th October 2012 12:20 PM   |  A+A-


Soubhagya Swain was elected  president of Ravenshaw University as results of students’ union elections were declared in colleges across Cuttack on Friday. The polls went off peacefully with no untoward incident.

Swain’s election, though, assumed political significance as he was purportedly propped by rebel BJD leader and suspended party MLA Pravat Biswal. Swain, however, expressed his allegiance to BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik.

On the other hand, after over a decade in oblivion, ABVP, the students’ wing of the BJP, found its footing in the institution that it once considered its stronghold by bagging the post of general secretary through the victory of Abilash Panda.

At SB Women’s College, Jayanti Singh was elected president and Milan Mishra general secretary. The elections though fuelled tension for a brief period when disgruntled defeated candidates burnt effigies of Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik and Cuttack MLA Debasish Samantray alleging manipulation in favour of the ruling party.

In Christ College, Sangram Keshari Sahoo was elected president uncontested while R Santosh Kumar Rao became the general secretary. Cuttack College elected Rakesh Sahoo as president and Sunil Rout general secretary while JKBK College saw Satyajit Sahani emerge victorious as president and Mir Samir Ali as general secretary.

At Stewart Science College, Rajesh Kumar Sahoo became president and Dipun Dalei general secretary of the students’ union.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp