Odisha panchayat elections to start on February 13, 2017

Political parties in Odisha are in for a reality check when elections to panchayati raj institutions in the state take place.

Published: 28th December 2016 12:19 AM  |   Last Updated: 28th December 2016 05:35 AM   |  A+A-


A file photo of people standing in Que to vote| PTI

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: Political parties in Odisha are in for a reality check when elections to panchayati raj institutions in the state take place in February 2017.

State Election Commissioner [SEC] R N Senapati notified the election on Tuesday. The polls will be held in five phases: Feb. 13, 15, 17, 19 and 21. Polling on each of these five days will start at 7 am and go on till 12 noon. Counting will commence at 1 pm and go on till completion.

Elections will be held to 853 seats in the zilla parishads, 6665 seats in the panchayat samitis, 6801 sarpanches and 92,029 wards. Fifty per cent of the seats are reserved for women.

With the notification of the polls, the model code of conduct has come into force in Odisha. It will have effect till February 21 throughout the state.

However, elections to posts of sarpanch and 23 ward members of the Dhinkia gram panchayat in Jagatsinghpur's Ersama block will not be held as per orders of the Orissa High Court. Similarly, polling for six gram panchayats including Parjang [Dehnaknal], Dasarathpur [Jajpur], Kolabira and Laikera [Jharsuguda], Bhawanipatna [Kalahandi] and Rengali [Sambalpur] have not been notified for similar reasons.

Senapati said normal development works and programmes that have already been started relief and restoration works for which expenditure has been passed in the Assembly will continue. However, no new schemes or projects can be floated.

Similarly, financial concessions by the government or its agencies cannot be declared as they are likely to influence the voters, directly or indirectly.

The SEC has already instructed the government not to transfer any official, including collectors and SPs without its prior permission. State employees related to the elections have been asked to maintain neutrality.

As per the schedule of the elections, nomination papers can be filed between January 11 and 17. Scrutiny will be held on January 18 while the last date for withdrawal of nominations is January 21. The final list of eligible contestants will be declared the same day.

There are 853 ZP members, 6801 panchayat samiti members, 6802 sarpanchs and 92052 ward members in the State. As many as 2.60 crore voters are eligible to exercise their franchise during the polls by producing their identity cards at the polling stations.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp