Cong leader Lalatendu Mohapatra passes away

Published: 07th November 2016 03:49 AM  |   Last Updated: 07th November 2016 03:53 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: Senior Congress leader Lalatendu Bidyadhar Mohapatra passed away at a private hospital in Gurgaon on Sunday evening.  
He was 52. Mohapatra, a three-time MLA from Puri’s Brahmagiri and a long-time chief of State Congress’ youth wing, was admitted to Gurgaon’s Medanta Hospital for the last few weeks. The end came at about 10.30 pm. His younger brother Lalitendu Mohapatra officially announced the former MLA’s demise.
A hugely popular leader among the youth, Mohapatra was elected from Brahmagiri Assembly constituency in 1995, 2000 and 2004.

As a young leader with a wide base across all regions of the State, Mohapatra was known for his organisational skills. Considered very close to former chief minister and Congress veteran JB Patnaik, Mohapatra was able to make a mark in the State’s politics because of his popularity among the students and youths.
Mohapatra was appointed as a working president of the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) in 2009 when KP Singhdeo was the OPCC president. He also worked in several capacities in the party during the tenure of different OPCC presidents and was instrumental in consolidating the party’s base in different areas.
An alumni of BJB College, he served as joint secretary of State National Students Union of India (NSUI) in 1983 before being elevated as its president in 1987 which he served till 1996.
He is survived by his wife and daughter.
Political leaders cutting across party lines condoled the death of Mohapatra. Describing Mohapatra as an able organiser, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik conveyed his deep sympathy to the bereaved family.
Union Petroleum and Natural Gas Minister Dharmendra Pradhan expressed his grief over the untimely demise of Mohapatra. “I had known Lulubhai since student days and always shared a good personal relationship with him. His passing away is a huge loss for Odisha political arena besides being a personal loss,” he said.
AICC general secretary BK Hariprasad, OPCC president Prasad Harichandan, Leader of the Opposition Narasingh Mishra, former Union minister Srikant Jena, former OPCC presidents Niranjan Patnaik and Jaydev Jena, MP Baijayant Panda, several ministers including Sanjay Dasburma and leaders cutting across party lines condoled his death.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp