Race for State Congress president post heats up in Odisha

The State unit of the party seems to be vertically divided with the legislators and organisational wing not agreeing on any issue.

Published: 12th August 2017 03:03 AM  |   Last Updated: 12th August 2017 09:33 AM   |  A+A-

AICC team members in Bhubaneswar on Friday | Express

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: The three-member team of All India Congress Committee (AICC) observers reached the Capital City on Friday evening on a four-day visit to  recommend the name of  president of the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) to president Sonia Gandhi.

But the State unit of the party seems to be vertically divided with the legislators and organisational wing not agreeing on any issue. In such a situation, political observers have expressed doubt whether the visit of the AICC team can end factionalism in the State unit.

The team comprising former Union minister Jeetendra Singh, party MPs Tamradhwaj Sahu and Gourab Gogoi was accompanied by AICC general secretary in-charge of Odisha BK Hariprasad. The team would meet senior party leaders, party MLAs, former MLAs and MPs, party candidates of 2014 Lok Sabha and Assembly on August 12 and 13 to assess the situation.

Meanwhile, several party MLAs who met in the residence of Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly Narasingh Mishra here decided that all legislators would meet the observers in a group and not individually. MLAs, who are district presidents, would meet the observers in the legislator category. Party legislators Devendra Sharma, Jacob Pradhan, Naba Kishore Das and Prakash Behera are also presidents of the District Congress Committees (DCCs).

Meanwhile, Congress Chief Whip in the Assembly Taraprasad Bahinipati said the MLAs will extend support to senior leader Niranjan Patnaik as the next OPCC president. Though Patnaik and former union minister Bhakta Charan Das have emerged as the frontrunners, the camp of OPCC president Prasad Harichandan has also decided to lobby for his continuance in the post.

The AICC team was constituted by party president Sonia Gandhi following the growing demand for a change in the State leadership, including the OPCC president, after the dismal show of the party in the panchayat polls.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.