Congress Legislature Party reiterates demand that Niranjan Patnaik replace Prasad Harichandran as OPCC chief

Besides, the party legislators also re-affirmed their confidence in Narasingh Mishra as the leader of the CLP in the state Assembly. 

Published: 13th August 2017 10:31 PM  |   Last Updated: 13th August 2017 10:31 PM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

BHUBANESHWAR: Leaders of the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) today reiterated their demand that Prasad Harichandan be removed from the post of president of the Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) and former OPCC chief Niranjan Patnaik be appointed to replace him.

Besides, the party legislators also re-affirmed their confidence in Narasingh Mishra as the leader of the CLP in the state Assembly. 

The CLP legislators along with Rajya Sabha MP Ranjib Biswal today met a three-member team of observers from the All India Congress Committee (AICC) and demanded an immediate change in the party's state leadership.

Earlier the legislators and the MP had gathered at the residence of Narasingh Mishra to discuss the demands that are to be raised with the observers.

"As resolved by the CLP earlier, the MLAs demanded the immediate appointment of Niranjan Patnaik as the next OPCC president," Congress chief whip in the assembly, Tara Prasad Bahinipati told reporters.

Party MLA Naba Kishore Das suggested changes at the grassroots level for the revival of Congress in Odisha. 

Rajya Sabha MP Ranjib Biswal later told reporters that, "We (including the MLAs) apprised the observers about the situation and if they feel there is a need for a change, they will recommend it to the High Command."

The observers, Gaurav Gogoi, Tamrdhwaj Sahu and Jitendra Singh, wanted to meet the legislators separately. However, the MLAs rejected a request for the same.

Earlier, senior leaders, including the former chief minister Hemananda Biswal, former union ministers Srikant Jena, Chandrasekhar Sahu and Bhakta Charan Das had met the observers. Many former MPs and MLAs and the party's candidates in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections also met the three-member team. While some sought changes to the party leadership, others wanted Harichandan to continue. 

Meanwhile, several senior legislators said they wanted Naba Kishore Das to be the next OPCC president.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.