Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik appoints 14 party spokespersons

Kendrapara district now has two spokespersons with the appointment of Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak.

Published: 13th October 2018 09:25 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th October 2018 09:25 AM   |  A+A-

Naveen Patnaik

Odisha CM and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik. (File)

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik on Friday appointed 14 spokespersons of party to counter increasingly aggressive BJP and Congress ahead of the 2019 general elections. However, senior leader and Government Chief Whip in the Assembly Amar Prasad Satpathy has been dropped from the list of party spokesperson. Former ministers Pushpendra Singhdeo and Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak, former Principal Accountant General Amar Patnaik and Debasis Marandi have been taken in as spokespersons. 

The other spokespersons are Rajya Sabha members Prasanna Acharya, Prashant Nanda and Pratap Keshari Deb, former ministers Debi Prasad Mishra, Arun Sahu and Rabi Narayan Nanda, Sameer Das, Sasmit Patra, Sulochan Das and Debasis Samantray.

Kendrapara district now has two spokespersons with the appointment of Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak. The other spokesperson from the district is Pratap Deb. The appointment of Marandi has come after senior leader Laxman Tudu quit BJD and joined JMM. Marandi was the JMM candidate from the Mayurbhanj Lok Sabha constituency in 2014 elections. Former Principal Accountant General Patnaik joined BJD on August 29.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp