Naveen felicitates hockey players  

They received cash prize of `one crore each while Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas of the men’s team, who bagged bronze medals, received `50 lakh each.

Published: 11th September 2018 02:44 AM  |   Last Updated: 11th September 2018 06:21 AM   |  A+A-

CM Naveen Patnaik with the hockey players on Monday | Express

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday felicitated the Odia hockey players who have participated in the Indian teams that won medals at the Asian Games 2018 at the State Secretariat here.Indian hockey women and men’s teams had bagged silver and bronze medals respectively in the recently concluded Asian Games at Jakarta. Four Odia women players - Lilima Minz, Namita Toppo, Sunita Lakra and Deep Grace Ekka - were the part of women’s team.

They received cash prize of `one crore each while Birendra Lakra and Amit Rohidas of the men’s team, who bagged bronze medals, received `50 lakh each. The Chief Minister praised their achievements and congratulated them on the occasion. He also assured them that the State Government will extend all support in future. The Chief Minister also handed over Biju Patnaik Player of the Year Award 2017 to Sunita and Amit. The highest ever cash award was announced by the State Government for the Asian Games medalists. 

Altogether 11 players from Odisha took part in the Asian Games and bagged six silver and two bronze medals. The Chief Minister had announced a total cash award of `eight crores for the players and 20 per cent of award money for the coach.Earlier, Dutee Chand had received cash award of ` three crore for her double silver medals in the women 100 and 200 mtr race. Athletes Jauna Murmu and Purnima Hembram, who had participated in the Asian Games also received `7.5 lakh each and a memento on the occasion.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp