Post Dama, Naveeen brings changes in J’singhpur BJD

BJDgeneral secretary and Rajya Sabha member Prasanta Nanda said the new appointments will supersede all previous organisational appointments.

Published: 16th September 2018 02:45 AM  |   Last Updated: 16th September 2018 04:58 AM   |  A+A-

By Express News Service

BHUBANESWAR: After the expulsion of former minister Damodar Rout from BJD and announcement of senior law maker to organise a workers’ conference within the next two to three days, Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik appointed several new office-bearers to strengthen Jagatsinghpur district organisational set-up of the party.

Health and Family Welfare Minister Pratap Jena has been appointed co-observer for Jagatsinghpur district in addition to his charge as Angul district observer. Women and Child Development Minister Prafulla Samal is now the party’s  observer for Jagatsinghpur district.

Besides, party MLA Prashant Kumar Muduli has been appointed working president of the Jagatsinghpur district BJD. Muduli along with Jagatsinghpur district president Bisnu Charan Das had led party workers to Naveen Nivas to lodge complaint against Rout for allegedly indulging in anti-party activities following which Naveen had expelled Rout from the party. Disciplinary action against Rout had come after he made a series of corruption charges against the ruling BJD.

The Chief Minister also made several other organisational appointments to bolster the party apparatus in some districts. In a new development, party’s Rajya Sabha MP Soumya Ranjan Patnaik has been appointed senior observer for undivided Koraput district. Patnaik was elected as a BJD Rajya Sabha member in March this year.

While Minister for Steel and Mines Prafulla Kumar Mallick has been appointed the president of the Dhenkanal district, Minister of State for Commerce and Transport Nrusingha Charan Sahu has been appointed general secretary of the party. Minister of State Tourism and Culture Ashok Chandra Panda has been appointed president of Bhubaneswar district of the party while secretary Bijaya Kumar Nayak will be the co-observer of Dhenkanal.

BJDgeneral secretary and Rajya Sabha member Prasanta Nanda said the new appointments will supersede all previous organisational appointments.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp