Pratap Sarangi leading in Balasore

The saffron party is on its way to regain its earlier stronghold of Balasore.

Published: 24th May 2019 03:39 AM  |   Last Updated: 24th May 2019 12:20 PM   |  A+A-

Image used for representation | PTI

By Express News Service

BALASORE: The saffron party is on its way to regain its earlier stronghold of Balasore.

BJP Lok Sabha candidate Pratap Chandra Sarangi will be winning the Parliamentary seat for the first time in 2019 after tasting defeat in 2014.

Sarangi was ahead by 36,671 votes of BJD candidate Rabindra Kumar Jena who had comfortably won from the seat last time. 

Navajyoti Patnaik, son of Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee president Niranjan Patnaik, was placed a distant third.

In Jaleswar Assembly segment, BJD was ahead of BJP by polling 53,575 votes. The saffron party had secured 29,303 votes after 22 rounds of counting. 

In Bhograi, 29,247 votes went in favour of BJD while the BJP candidate bagged 10,043 after 15 rounds of counting. 

In Basta segment, BJD bagged 26,238 votes while  18,266 votes went in favour of BJP candidate.

Stay up to date on all the latest Odisha news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp