Jaya Takes Oath as RK Nagar MLA

Published: 05th July 2015 05:58 AM  |   Last Updated: 05th July 2015 05:58 AM   |  A+A-

CHENNAI: Chief Minister and AIADMK general secretary J Jayalalithaa on Saturday took oath as a member of the State Assembly, representing RK Nagar. On June 30, she won the by-election to the constituency with a huge margin of 1,50,722 votes with all 27 candidates, including CPI leader C Mahendran and social activist Traffic KR Ramaswamy, forfeiting their deposits.

Jayalalithaa arrived at the chamber of Assembly Speaker P Dhanapal at 11 am, and handed over to him the certificate of election issued by the Returning Officer and took the oath.  She was accompanied by all her cabinet colleagues on the occasion.

The RK Nagar seat fell vacant followign the resignation of  AIADMK legislator P Vetrivel. Elected to the Rajya Sabha in 1984, Jayalalithaa retained the seat until her maiden entry to the the Tamil Nadu Assembly in 1989.

After the demise of AIADMK founder and former Chief Minister MG Ramachandran, Jayalalithaa was elected from Bodinayakkanur in Theni district in 1989 and became the first Woman Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly. 

In the 1991, she won from both Bargur and Kangeyam constituencies but retained Bargur. She was elected from Andipatti in February 2002 and May 2006; In May 2011, she was elected from Srirangam.

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp