Soon, 11-member panel to select poll candidates: OPS

Party top brass threatens disciplinary action on those violating diktat

Published: 13th June 2019 04:29 AM  |   Last Updated: 13th June 2019 04:29 AM   |  A+A-

Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and his deputy O Panneerselvam staring a lighter moment at the AIADMK party meeting in Chennai on Wednesday | P Jawahar

By Express News Service

CHENNAI: Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami and deputy CM O Panneerselvam issued a statement warning of disciplinary action against those violating the diktat. Sources say apart from EPS and OPS, only R Vaithilingam, KP Munusamy and E Madhusudanan spoke at the meeting.      

Speaking at the meeting, Panneerselvam indicated that an 11-member steering committee would be formed soon to look after party affairs. This committee was first promised on August 21, 2017, when the factions led by Panneerselvam and Edappadi K Palaniswami merged.  

Expediting grievance resolution will be the primary task for this panel, apart from playing a key role in the selection of candidates for various elections. "We went into the meeting smiling and came out the same way," said minister KT Rajenthra Bhalaji.

At the meeting, Panneerselvam said the incharges for each constituency should enquire about the reasons for the party's defeat in the Lok Sabha elections and in many Assembly constituencies where by-elections were held.   

Sources said E Madhusudanan, presidium chairman of the party, had suggested that the leadership should not stop at just seeking the views of the office bearers but also hear those of the cadre. He said only efficient hands should be selected for the Rajya Sabha seats for biennial elections to happen next month.   
There were posters near the AIADMK headquarters put up by a North Chennai functionary proposing Palaniswami as the general secretary of the party. Similarly, at Sivaganga, there were posters suggesting School Education Minister KA Sengottaiyan as the general secretary. But Sengottaiyan denounced the poster.

Ministers CVe Shanmugam and OS Manian were absent in the meeting. While CVe Shanmugan could not attend the meeting as his brother met with an accident, Manian could not, due to the death of his close relative. Kunnam MLA RT Ramachandran, who supported Rajan Chellappa in demanding single leadership, did not attend the meeting as he is convalescing after surgery.

‘No invitation’

ET Rathinasabapathy, VT Kalaiselvan and R Prabhu, the MLAs supporting AMMK general secretary TTV Dhinakaran, did not attend the meeting and went on record saying they were not invited

Stay up to date on all the latest Tamil Nadu news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp