Miffed Konda and Koppula Keep off Swearing-in Event

Travel-weary IT minister KTR, who just returned from Dubai, also could not make it to the induction of new ministers

Published: 17th December 2014 06:00 AM  |   Last Updated: 17th December 2014 06:00 AM   |  A+A-


HYDERABAD:  Six new ministers, who were hand-picked by chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao for inclusion in his cabinet, were administered the oath of office and secrecy at a colourful function organised at Raj Bhavan here on Tuesday.

Though almost all the ministers and MLAs were present, minister aspirants Konda Surekha and Koppula Eswar did not turn up at the event.

IT minister K T Rama Rao, who went on a two-day visit to Dubai, returned in the early hours of Tuesday and he too could not attend the function.

All the six ministerial candidates reached  Raj Bhavan with their supporters and were administered the oath of office and secrecy by governor ESL Narasimhan.

Tummala Nageswar Rao was the first to take the oath, followed by A Indrakaran Reddy, Talasani Srinivas Yadav, C Laxma Reddy, Chandulal Ajmera and Jupally Krishna Rao. All of them took the oath in Telugu and in the name of God.

As Tummala’s name was called, he shouted ‘Jai Telangana’.

When Srinivas Yadav took the oath, his followers burst crackers outside the Raj Bhavan and celebrated.

Tummala, who recently defected to the TRS from the TDP, stood apart from others as he came clad in a pink shirt while all other ministers and TRS leaders came in white khadi.

Later, chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao and all the ministers had photos with governor ESL Narasimhan.

Stay up to date on all the latest Telangana news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the newindianexpress.com editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on newindianexpress.com are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of newindianexpress.com or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. newindianexpress.com reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp