BJP eyes new faces for Rajya Sabha, may drop Vinay Katiyar

Eying eight Rajya Sabha seats from Uttar Pradesh in the biennial elections in April, the BJP appears gearing up to deny re-nomination to controversial MP Vinay Katiyar.

Published: 10th February 2018 11:17 PM  |   Last Updated: 11th February 2018 07:46 AM   |  A+A-

Vinay Katiyar is the founder-president of Bajrang Dal

NEW DELHI: Eying eight Rajya Sabha seats from Uttar Pradesh in the biennial elections in April, the BJP appears gearing up to deny re-nomination to controversial MP Vinay Katiyar. The party is looking to rope in new faces for nominations for the Upper House from the state to build a leadership base.

“The BJP has enough numbers to bag seven of the nine Rajya Sabha seats from UP, while the party will be in a position to win another nomination on the basis of additional numbers, besides the support of other MLAs. Katiyar has been told that he will not be getting re-nomination for the Upper House,” said a senior BJP functionary., adding  that Katiyar is no more in the scheme of things of the BJP chief for UP.

The controversial statements of Katiyar—the founder-president of Bajrang Dal, the youth wing of the Vishwa Hindu Parishad—are seen as his attempts to embarrass the BJP after having sensed that the party won’t be renominating him to the Upper House, sources in the saffron outfit said. On Monday, Katiyar said “Muslims should not even be living in this country, they should go to Pakistan or Bangladesh”.

While the Samajwadi Party will be comfortably bagging one Rajya Sabha nomination, which sources in the party said will go to the outgoing MP and national general secretary Kiranmoy Nanda, the fate of Naresh Aggarwal seems uncertain. “The SP doesn’t have enough numbers to re-nominate Aggarwal. He has been reaching out to the BJP chief Amit Shah. But Shah is not inclined to take him in the party fold,” said a senior BJP functionary.

Within the BJP, a few of the national general secretaries have been hoping to bag Rajya Sabha nominations since the party came to power in Uttar Pradesh with a two-third majority. “BJP national general secretaries Ram Madhav, Arun Singh and Anil Jain are hopeful of entering the Rajya Sabha. However, it’s to be seen if Shah blesses them with Rajya Sabha nominations,” said a senior BJP functionary.

Shah, BJP vice presidents Prabhat Jha and Vinay Sahashrabuddhe, and national general secretary Bhupinder Yadav are Rajya Sabha members.

Stay up to date on all the latest The Sunday Standard news with The New Indian Express App. Download now
(Get the news that matters from New Indian Express on WhatsApp. Click this link and hit 'Click to Subscribe'. Follow the instructions after that.)


Disclaimer : We respect your thoughts and views! But we need to be judicious while moderating your comments. All the comments will be moderated by the editorial. Abstain from posting comments that are obscene, defamatory or inflammatory, and do not indulge in personal attacks. Try to avoid outside hyperlinks inside the comment. Help us delete comments that do not follow these guidelines.

The views expressed in comments published on are those of the comment writers alone. They do not represent the views or opinions of or its staff, nor do they represent the views or opinions of The New Indian Express Group, or any entity of, or affiliated with, The New Indian Express Group. reserves the right to take any or all comments down at any time.

flipboard facebook twitter whatsapp